$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Colonizing costs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dvonn Yinsh
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It costs a culture token and a ship in that sector...do you "pay" the ship by removing one? Or do you just have to have a ship present in order to pay the culture to establish a control node?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You pay the ship as a cost.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Szegedi
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There are couple encounter cards you can win the encounter and "colonize for Free"... which obviously would be nothing paid but normally a ship (spent) and Culture there would colonize the planet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Grant
United States
Santa Clarita
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
candoo wrote:
It costs a culture token and a ship in that sector...do you "pay" the ship by removing one? Or do you just have to have a ship present in order to pay the culture to establish a control node?


You need a ship in the system to attempt Hegemony (no rival ships - ally or enemy - can be present). One Command token is exhausted and one culture is paid to attempt Hegemony. If successful you pay another culture and remove a ship in the system to put your Control Node on the planet. If you fail, you can exhaust another available Command and spend one culture token to try again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Jatta Pake wrote:
candoo wrote:
It costs a culture token and a ship in that sector...do you "pay" the ship by removing one? Or do you just have to have a ship present in order to pay the culture to establish a control node?


You need a ship in the system to attempt Hegemony (no rival ships - ally or enemy - can be present). One Command token is exhausted and one culture is paid to attempt Hegemony. If successful you pay another culture and remove a ship in the system to put your Control Node on the planet. If you fail, you can exhaust another available Command and spend one culture token to try again.


This is about colonizing undeveloped worlds, not hegemony.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dvonn Yinsh
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks for the replies.
Looking forward to our first game in a few days.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maldus Alver

Washington
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jatta Pake wrote:
candoo wrote:
It costs a culture token and a ship in that sector...do you "pay" the ship by removing one? Or do you just have to have a ship present in order to pay the culture to establish a control node?


You need a ship in the system to attempt Hegemony (no rival ships - ally or enemy - can be present). One Command token is exhausted and one culture is paid to attempt Hegemony. If successful you pay another culture and remove a ship in the system to put your Control Node on the planet. If you fail, you can exhaust another available Command and spend one culture token to try again.


Hegemony is not colonization it is simply taking control through diplomatic means. Colonization would take a ship to symbolize the materials used to start a colony and it would be either on a virgin world or a pre-warp civ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Marinealver wrote:
Colonization would take a ship to symbolize the materials used to start a colony and it would be either on a virgin world or a pre-warp civ.


To be exact...you colonize any undeveloped world. An undeveloped world is simply a world without nodes. This could be a virgin world, a pre-warp civ, a formerly developed world that had all its nodes destroyed, or a just a world that doesn't have any nodes after its discovery or crisis card is resolved. Drawing a virgin world or pre-warp civ card are just two ways to end up with an undeveloped, colonizable world.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.