Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you control an opponents structure? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Mealer
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mb
Could not find in rulebook...

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Dunn
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
"...to excel above the common rate, in frivolous things, is nothing graceful in a man of quality and honor." - Michel de Montaigne
badge
Let's just play everything always.
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can stand on the hex with it, but it won't be considered yours.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Evan! Ben, it's noted on page 18 (the page about building structures):

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adria D
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can control the territory, but not the structure.

So if the game ends while your unit shares a territory with another player's structure, you control the territory for scoring. But the structure is not yours, and the structure's owner will continue to get the benefit of it (except the Windmill - can't produce on a hex you don't control).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Mealer
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mb
Thank you all and thank you for being thorough!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wise
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought the mill produced whenever you take the produce action. Of course if someone else controlled the hex where your mill is located, they would get the resource.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Paul: As said in the rules, "you can't Produce on the Mill's territory if you don't control that territory." So if you have a Mill on a territory that an opponent controls and you take the Produce action, the Mill will not produce anything.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wise
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's what I get for thinking without reading first.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
aspiringloser wrote:
That's what I get for thinking without reading first.
A lot that going around, it seems. Scythe has one of the clearest and most thorough rulebooks in my game collection, yet every day there are questions where the answer is in the rulebook, under the logical heading, (with a bold red subhead even). Screen capture of the text with the arrow to the rule fully answers 95% of the questions, which demonstrates just how well thought out (and playtested) the rules are.

Of course, that didn't stop me from playing bottom actions before top actions in my first game.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.