Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff
United States
Lakeland
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Before I ask the question I'll go ahead and state that I'm new to the system so you can set your response(s) to newb.

Regarding power useage... Suppose I had a size 5 ship, the Human Scout for instance. With three engines and with power loss of 1 each for helm, shields, and gun each round, I'm wondering how long it will take to have shields or guns at a decent level. I don't recall reading this specifically in the rules but I guess that once pumped (the only way I can see to get extra power from round to round), the power levels carry over from one round to the next, except for that 1 unit drain mentioned earlier.

Also, if my assumption is correct in that "excess" power carries over round to round, do you always lose 1 per system at rounds end? In other words, What if my gun has a power of two when I fire it... I lose one power to the discharge but do I also lose one to the end of round?

And on a related note to that question, I'm unclear if you always lose just one power unit when firing a cannon or if you'd lose an amount equal to the level at which you fire (and thus the number of rolled dice).

I've probably mangled the rules all up in these questions so any clarification would be most helpful.

Thanks

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander B.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmb
-Cannons and Missles drain one power from Guns for each use.
-At the start of each round, each Engine produces one power in a cyclical order of Helm, Guns, Shields.
-At the end of each round, you must reduce the power of Helm, Guns, and Shields by one.

The secret to power is in two Engineer abilities:

1) Pump Engines: allows the Engineer to add 1 OR MORE power to ANY system, up to their ship size, for each Pump Engines success roll. More power creates more difficulty.