Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Pax Renaissance» Forums » Rules

Subject: Need more than one knight to campaign? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Dingleman
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
In the section on campaigns:

Quote:
Example: You invade France using the Holy Roman Empire campaign op. The HRE has two knights (red and white, but their color does not matter in a campaign), so you must pay two florins. Note you are disallowed to invade with just one knight for economy. Since France has no Ruling Class, the[/quote]re are no defenders....


This is the only place that I could find in the manual that mentions this. So is this a universal rule - you always need more than one knight to campaign?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCormick
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It means you can't just pay for one of the two knights.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dingleman wrote:
In the section on campaigns:

Quote:
Example: You invade France using the Holy Roman Empire campaign op. The HRE has two knights (red and white, but their color does not matter in a campaign), so you must pay two florins. Note you are disallowed to invade with just one knight for economy. Since France has no Ruling Class, the[/quote]re are no defenders....


This is the only place that I could find in the manual that mentions this. So is this a universal rule - you always need more than one knight to campaign?


It's merely pointing out that you must pay for both the available Knights, you cannot just opt to pay 1 florin for 1 knight (and thus ignore the other one).

In other words, you must pay for all (to do the campaign) or none (and don't do the campaign), there is no picking and choosing.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Wasserman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that's why the example says "for economy", that is, to save money.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
United States
Cedar Park
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
You have to hire all the knights in a region. You can't take less than all of them to save money.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Dingleman
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks all, that makes perfect sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.