$35.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Lamps Are Going Out» Forums » Rules

Subject: Brest-Litovsk Requirements rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
R Hilton
United States
Millburn
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For purposes of determining if the Central Powers control four or more areas in Russia, needed for BL to take effect according to Event Card #75, does control of either Kars or Caucaus count towards this total? Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Uhlmann
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
designer
The short answer is that yes, Kars and Caucasus would count towards the total of four required for the Treaty, as the card states Russian areas without any qualifiers as to home, owned, square areas, etc.

The long answer and the political situation in the resource rich Caucasus region after the Bolshevik Revolution and the subsequent Russian Civil War is extremely complicated. The Russians negotiated with the Germans (eventual Treaty of BL) and also with the Ottomans in a proposed Treaty of Friendship to end the conflict in the Caucasus region. While the Russians considered the Caucasus front secondary to the main Eastern Front, the winding down of Russian participation in the war led to conflicting objectives in the region between the Germans and the Ottomans, to the point that the Russians sent oil to Germany in exchange for support against further Ottoman advances into the Caucasus. So while the Germans had to maintain occupation and threaten further force to finalize the Treaty of BL, foreign advances into the Kars and Caucasus regions would provide further incentive for Russia to end the conflict with Germany.

For game purposes, since the Caucasus contains a production point, the Russians should always be able to keep the Russian army in Kars supplied and thus prevent an advance (or further advance). If the situation on the main Russian fronts is so dire that they cannot spare the point to resupply a threatened CAU army, this would reinforce the need for Russia to negotiate an exit from the war, even though at that point German and Turkish goals in the Caucasus are completely at odds with each other. The subsequent conflicts in the region between a multitude of interests is beyond the scope of the game, as the conditions outlined in the rules (and cards) are merely to determine Russia's exit from the war due to a variety of (and sometimes conflicting) reasons.

Kirk
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R Hilton
United States
Millburn
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, an answer to the narrow rules question, and an informative historical perspective to boot. Can't ask for better than that. Thanks.

I have only played the game through once, solitaire, but I very much enjoyed the basic game mechanics and the capturing of the many singular aspects of WW1 (an historical topic of particular interest to me) in the Event Cards and Technology Cards. Plus, the entire war can be played out in a single evening (albeit, possibly a fairly long evening).

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.