$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Nik G
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I was looking at the differences between Caltrops and Caltrop Bead. The former says "Banish this card to evade/defeat a monster whose highest difficulty is...", whereas the latter says "Banish this card to defeat a monster you encounter..."

Does that mean I can play Caltrops on another players turn even if they're in another location and still get the effect? Or do Items only affect their owner?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
The short answer to that question is this: you can play a card any time that card tells you that you can play it.

The unfortunate and tricky part with Caltrops is that the game terms evade and defeat (as well as acquire and succeed) have an implied "you" in them. ANY time those game terms appear you know that the card is only for you.

So the answer to your specific question is that both of these are you-only cards, one because it has an explicit you, the other because the terms on the card have implied you.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Franka
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Designer's answer here (Joseph is right):

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/13165448#13165448
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Morris Tobin
United States
Pearland
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Make sure to look at who can use it, for example some things can only be used on your check or at your location.

Another thing to remember is that you can only one type of boon can be used per check, so only one item, spell, blessing, etc. If another player wants to help, then he can use only one item, spell, blessing, etc.

Sometimes in the heat of the moment you might forget, and attempt to use two different items on a check!

Hope that helps!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.