Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Blue Moon: Buka Invasion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Buka Bluff vs Terrah 'Impenetrable Fog" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Diener
United States
Conroe
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
'Impenetrable Fog' (Terrah) says "all Icons are ignored...",
and 'Bluff' is an Icon.
If impenetrable Fog is played,
and Terrah calls the Bluff (legally, must be on the next Bukah turn), then:
Must the Buka player immediately retreat regardless if the Bluff was previously valid?

Correct?


Such a weird situation...!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Pereira
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
See the person next to you? Kill! Kill!!! KILLL!!!!
badge
I'm your baby! Can you feel it?
Avatar
mbmbmb
I don't think so.

Impenetrable Fog refers to icons not to the state or effect of a card.

If the Buka player plays a card face-down, then the state of that card is affected as per rules.

Impenetrable Fog only meant that no new bluffs can be played for as long as Impenetrable Fog is active, but the current face-down cards still count towards the Buka's total current power and still "carry" the effect associated to bluff.

This would be my interpretation but I'd be interested in hearing others'
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Diener
United States
Conroe
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That would make sense, but only if the Bluff were not called...
Bluff uses Icons to determine whether a Bluff is valid
(that is: the same element as the current Battle).
Impenetrable Fog causes all Icons to be ignored, so a called Bluff has no icons (in effect), so instant retreat + extra dragon loss.

Quoting from the FAQ
Quote:
only a card with the right element BLUFF icon is safe. When you declare your total power
including bluff cards, your opponent can "call your bluff", and if you are bluffing then your opponent attracts a
dragon and you must retreat (usually allowing your opponent to attract at least one more dragon).


Impenetrable Fog says
"Your icons are ignored except STOP and Protected".
Since the icons need to be checked to validate or invalidate a Bluff,
and since icons are ignored, it would seem the Bluff auto-fails, regardless!

(I am hoping for a ruling -against- this interpretation, BTW:
I am the Buka player in this scenario!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Pereira
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
See the person next to you? Kill! Kill!!! KILLL!!!!
badge
I'm your baby! Can you feel it?
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes I can see what you mean now.

I would say that if a bluff was called the Buka's opponent would lose because there is no bluff icon (ignored) it's not wrong.

I will read the rules again (haven't played in a while) and get back with some more thoughts on this.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Dearlove
United Kingdom
Chelmsford
Essex
flag msg tools
SoRCon 8 27 Feb - 1 Mar 2015 Basildon UK http://www.sorcon.co.uk Essex Games 27 Jul '15
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Look a bit further in the FAQ list, to the question that starts "if my bluff cards have become useless". It lists icons being ignored as as a case of that. The answer then describes what you can do about that. Because if your bluff is called, you lose.

The Blue Moon Legends rulebook is explicit on the point, it lists icons are ignored as a reason you lose.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.