Subject: Assembly Tips? Plastic Glue, Pinning, and Super Glue. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Maslowski
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Hello all,

I'm new to miniatures and have been reading up a ton with the upcoming 1.5 Kickstarter.

Unfortunately... I'm somewhat at a loss as to what glue/method to use when assembling the figures.

- Most 40k folks recommend pinning models when possible. I'm totally cool with the time investment. But that leads me to...
- Most folks recommend using "plastic glue" which melts/bonds the plastic and holds a better bond than "super glue".
- But... plastic glue doesn't bond to metal. Which leaves me completely confused. If I put in pins, the plastic glue will not adhere to the metal paperclip.

The way I see it, I have 3 options.

- Plastic Glue: Strong Bond.
- Pin + Super Glue: Strong Bond.
- Super Glue: Weak Bond.

Again, with plastic glue melting things, it kind of scares me. Would I be better served using super glue + pins, plastic glue + pins, or what? Everyone seems pro plastic glue > super glue... but is that if they don't pin? I'm just a bit lost. Your guidance is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
I'm new to the whole "miniature model" assembling thing myself, but don't think pinning is really necessary for plastic models on this scale.
I was planning on using good old plastic model glue like I used on all those old airplane models I assembled as a kid.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmit Svenson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mb
Everything you will get through the Kickstarter will be hard plastic, unless Poots adds some resin stretch goals later, and iirc after the last campaign he said that the resin production process doesn't lend itself well to scaling the way Kickstarter rewards need to.