Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » General

Subject: Some questions about combat? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Igor Persin
Croatia
flag msg tools
Avatar
Hi

I am not sure about some stuff, so better to ask it than play wrong.

1. When we draw those cards at the begining of the round, if we draw enemy, is he engaged with investigator autmatically or is he placed at location on which investigator is? (unless stated on him to spawn at some different location)

2. If enemy has prey ability, that means that unless you evade and exaust him, you can't really run away from him? He will simply in his phase follow you to the other location, engage you, and then attack you, right? So only way to get rid of him is to more or less kill him, or evade him, to exaust him, but then next round he unexausts, preys- -> comes to you and engages, and then attacks, so each other round you will suffer dmg no matter what, right? OR am I missing something?

3. If you have 2 enemys engaged with you, when doing evade, you only evade 1 of them? To evade both, you would need to do evade check for each of them?

4. If enemy withouth prey ability spawns at some location, he is more or less harmless, unless you chose to engage him?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mihnea Cateanu
Romania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
smurfORnot wrote:
Hi

I am not sure about some stuff, so better to ask it than play wrong.

1. When we draw those cards at the begining of the round, if we draw enemy, is he engaged with investigator autmatically or is he placed at location on which investigator is? (unless stated on him to spawn at some different location)

2. If enemy has prey ability, that means that unless you evade and exaust him, you can't really run away from him? He will simply in his phase follow you to the other location, engage you, and then attack you, right? So only way to get rid of him is to more or less kill him, or evade him, to exaust him, but then next round he unexausts, preys- -> comes to you and engages, and then attacks, so each other round you will suffer dmg no matter what, right? OR am I missing something?

3. If you have 2 enemys engaged with you, when doing evade, you only evade 1 of them? To evade both, you would need to do evade check for each of them?

4. If enemy withouth prey ability spawns at some location, he is more or less harmless, unless you chose to engage him?



Hello! So:

1. If someone draws an enemy that enemy will engage that person`s investigator automatically. Spawn overrides that (like you mentioned) but prey does too. Prey tells you which investigator will the current drawn enemy engage now. So for example if it says 'prey. Lowest remaining health' it will engage the investigator having the lowest health points, which might be the one who drew it from the deck, or it might not. If more investigators satisfy the condition you can of course choose which one the monster engages. But after that engagement the prey stuff does not matter anymore.

2. see question 1 about prey. What I think you are talking about is the hunter keyword. But it works like this: in the enemy phase, all monsters that are hunters will move one space towards the nearest investigator (in case of tie you choose) and if it enters a location with an investigator it will engage him (it might not, if on your turn you evaded the monster and moved 2 times...because the hunter moves only 1 space). The move happens after enemy attacks, so even if it engages someone it will not attack this round!

3. Yes you evade each monster separately

4. Yes they are harmless if they just sit there. But: if someone enters that location, the enemy will automatically engage him/her (you don`t get to choose not to have him engage you) and of course (see question 2) if they have the hunter keyword, they will slowly come after you!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dursch
United States
Farmersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes, you are engaged immediately with the enemy. However you have until the enemy phase before it can attack (pending attacks of opportunity).

2. You are confusing Prey for Hunter. Hunter allows a readied monster during the enemy phase to move and attack. Prey is just a specified target if there is more than one target.

An enemy who is exhausted simply readies for their turn. If an investigator is no longer present, he can not engage anyone and does not get to use his hunter trait to move after someone. Prey only affects who he targets on his spot and he can't attack the turn he readies. On the following turn, he will be able to do his attack phase which will allow him to use hunter to move one location towards the investigators.

This is detailed pretty well in the learn to play guide enemy phase section.

3. Correct, you must evade each enemy separately. At least evading does not activate an attack of opportunity in this fashion. So if you have two enemies it will take you 2 actions to evade, if successful then 1 action to get out of dodge.

4. An enemy who spawns during an encounter card draw is automatically engaged with the person with whom they were drawn from the deck.

If There is a prey keyword, it is not resolved during the mythos haze encounter card draw. This comes into effect when a monster is spawned via spawn instructions, a readied monster becomes engaged during the enemy phase, or some other instruction has a monster readying with you.

For this it makes more sense in the learn to play guide, Mythos Phase, block 3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Igor Persin
Croatia
flag msg tools
Avatar
Thanks!
I don't have rulebook by my side, so I might have named some things wrong, but you got what I was thinking about! Again, thanks for replys once again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dee
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
mihnea_1309 wrote:
Hello! So:

1. If someone draws an enemy that enemy will engage that person`s investigator automatically. Spawn overrides that (like you mentioned) but prey does too. Prey tells you which investigator will the current drawn enemy engage now. So for example if it says 'prey. Lowest remaining health' it will engage the investigator having the lowest health points, which might be the one who drew it from the deck, or it might not. If more investigators satisfy the condition you can of course choose which one the monster engages. But after that engagement the prey stuff does not matter anymore.


You have Prey wrong here. It doesn't have any impact on which investigator it engages when you spawn it. (Exception would be if an enemy in the encounter deck had 'Prey: X only'.)

RR, p24, Mythos Phase 1.4.4
Quote:
If the card is an enemy, spawn it following any spawn
instruction the card bears. (A spawn instruction is any text
bearing a “spawn” precursor.) If the encountered enemy
has no spawn instruction, the enemy spawns engaged with
the investigator encountering the card and is placed in that
investigator’s threat area.

Note that only 'spawn:X' text is considered before the enemy engages the investigator who drew it.

So, even though in the Prey entry of the Rules Ref, p17, it states that --
Quote:
If an enemy that is about to automatically engage an
investigator at its location has multiple options of whom to
engage, that enemy engages the investigator who best meets
its “prey” instructions (if multiple investigators are tied in
meeting these instructions, the lead investigator may decide
among them)

-- you do not refer to this instruction because the enemy does not have 'multiple options'. Just the one, as defined in the Mythos Phase rule text.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Akaan Qualrus
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
mihnea_1309 wrote:
The move happens after enemy attacks, so even if it engages someone it will not attack this round!


Wrong. Hunter enemies movement occurs before attack. If there is a ready hunter enemy 1 location from you, it will :
1. Move to your location
2. Automatically engage with you
3. Attack

Exhausted hunter enemies don't move. So if you evade (exhaust the enemy) and move to a new location, it will not follow you this round. According to the statement above, you'd better prepare for him coming at the end of the next round because it will perform an attack.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.