Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Tramways» Forums » Rules

Subject: Connecting inaccessible parcels rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the example on page 6 of the rulebook, Pink lays a track through her own Parcel and connects to a building owned by Orange. This is allowed, but I'm not sure why she would do that?

Also, there is a pink-owned building (Industry) to the south. If this building was in the corner of the map, how would pink ever be able to link to it?

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, Paul! meeple

If there were meeples on the board, perhaps Pink would have wanted to move a meeple from the top commerce to the bottom one. Also, Orange built a track (in Example #4) east-west across the southward path of Pink's track, so her options are either:
colonist to let the incomplete track go away, wasting all the construction time and expenses.
colonist to reroute the end of her track; however, this might be just a hair more costly than Pink could afford, or not take her where she needs that track to go.
colonist to build across Orange's new rail, through Pink's own parcel, to connect to Orange's commerce.
colonist to use Action Round 2 to lay track across Orange's obstructing track and to build a building on Pink's parcel at G.

Is it depicting a good move? Not necessarily, but it illustrated a number of corner cases so we could discuss them all at once.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Singh
United States
Moreno Valley
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the first question, building through a parcel might be done because completing the link to the eastern side of the orange owned commercial building would cost 5 lay track symbols whereas the action taken only cost 2. If she didn't work on the link this round it would deteriorate and be removed from the board.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.