$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dynamite Blast vs Aloof rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Dunn
United States
Fishers
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Aloof ruling says, "An investigator cannot attack an aloof enemy while
that enemy is not engaged with an investigator."

Dynamite Blast says, "Choose your location or a connecting location. Deal 3 damage to each enemy and to each investigator at the chosen location."

Can Dynamite Blast hurt a non-engaged aloof enemy?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jari Ahonen
Finland
Hyvinkää
Uusimaa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dynamite Blast isn't an attack. It is just an event card that deals damage at the chosen location.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Stegman
United States
Minneapolis
MN
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dealing damage is not the same thing as attacking. The word 'attack' does not appear on the dynamite card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel Buckle
United Kingdom
Thornton Heath
Croydon
flag msg tools
designer
Omega Centauri
badge
Published in 2014
mbmbmbmbmb
Dynamite Blast affects enemies and investigators at the chosen location.

Doesn't matter if the enemies are engaged, ready, exhausted, aloof - if they are at the location they suffer 3 damage. It isn't an 'attack' (fight action) it is an event (tactic).

Thematically it's an explosion, hits everything in the area.

edit - ninja
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Farquhar
Australia
North Melbourne
VIC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, because the card instructs you to deal 3 damage. It does not instruct you to attack.

Also, note that the damage is indiscriminate i.e. deal 3 damage to enemy and investigator. So, if anything, you are attacking the room and the damage being dealt to fleshy things is simply a consequence of the action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Elijah
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
You think that's air you're breathing?
badge
We live on a placid island of ignorance in the midst of black seas of infinity, and it was not meant That We Should voyage far.
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say yes.

Attacking is done as an fight action. In this case, you are using the card which is an Event.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emily Dickinson
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tangram11 wrote:
...you are attacking the room...


To keep things mechanically easy to remember, it's important that this isn't true - you are not Attacking because it is not a Fight Action, and the important consequence of that is that Dynamite does provoke Attacks of Opportunity from Ready Enemies in your space (only), whether or not you are targeting your own space.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nik Verheyen
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Does that mean it hurts your character as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Even if it did say "attack", wouldn't the card override the rules based on the "Golden Rule"?
"If the text of a card directly contradicts the text of either the Rules Reference or the Learn to Play book, the text of the card takes precedence."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Nik verheyen wrote:
Does that mean it hurts your character as well?

If you drop it at your feet instead of an adjacent location, yeah.

(Skids can get some mileage out of rogue evade/move cards to gain distance to avoid this, Roland would have to tank it on the chin)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.