$15.00
$5.00
$30.00
$20.00
Darth Hidious
Singapore
flag msg tools
To activate the reinforcement value, you need a hostile ON the card and the hostile must be in range of at least 2 from American units?

I am having trouble deciphering the example.
Can someone explain how to use the card please?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Webster
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Tech & BoardGaming Nerd
mbmbmbmbmb
The text in the example on pg 30 reads:

Range 0-2
Reinforce (0-4)

If there are no Unsuppressed Hostiles on the truck, this text has no effect (the truck needs a driver).

If there is at least one Unsuppressed Hostile card on the truck and there is at least one friendly soldier in the same Location or within two Locations at the start of the Reinforcement Draw step (which is usually going to be the case) then you would draw a card from the Hostile deck and if the card has a Hostile value of 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4 it would be placed in the same Location as the truck (thematically, the truck was transporting the unit and it is now deploying). If the drawn card has a Hostile value of 5 or greater it is discarded and no reinforcement arrives (this turn). Note that this is in addition to the Location's intrinsic reinforcement draw (if any).

[edit: changed for clarity]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From page 30

----
Some Hostile cards have an
effect, but no die roll or Attack
chart. This text is only active if
there is at least one Hostile that
is not Suppressed or Killed on
the card and the Hostile is
within the noted Range.

Example: If the Large Truck is
within Range 2 of its Targeted
Soldier, draw a Reinforcement card for the Large Truck during
the Reinforcement Draw step. If the card drawn has a value of
0, 1, 2, 3, or 4, place the Hostile in the Truck’s Location. If the
Hostile’s value is 5 or more, discard it.
----

Note that the large truck in this example can take 4 EKIA/SUPP
So if it is in Range of it's target soldier and doesn't have 4 EKIA/SUPP counters on it - draw for reinforcement for it - regardless of soldiers in the same location or not.

If for example it has 3 EKIA and 1 SUPP counter on it you would not draw for reinforcements.
If it's targeted soldier is out of range you also would not draw for it reinforcing.

Think of it as a large truck potentially full of Hostiles - if the targeted soldier is in sight (range) some of those Hostiles may get out and join the battle.
If the Truck is heavily suppressed (4 EKIA/SUPP) or they are not near the soldier that they have fixated on - then everyone stays in the truck and enjoys the ride.
(Note if even 1 SUPP it doesn't move)

This is why - like officers - the best way of responding to this Hostile is to eliminate it with extreme prejudice!

Leave it alone and you will have an extremely hard time to achieve your objective!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darth Hidious
Singapore
flag msg tools
Wonderful...thanks
Looking forward to my first game
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark mcleod
United Kingdom
Birkenhead
Wirral
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
David, if the large truck enters play during the Reinforcement draw do you still draw for reinforcements for the truck or wait till next turn to begin drawing truck reinforcements?

Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Keywords player aid description for "Reinforce (x-x)" clarifies you wait until the next Reinforcement draw.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.