$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Operation Consulting Visit Double a Double rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jack
United States
JACKSON
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The question came up with using Consulting Visit to pull out BOOM!

My thought is:
You play Consulting Visit on click 1&2.
Pull out BOOM! and use your third click to pay for BOOM!
Cost a total of 3 Clicks.

Another players thought is:
Doubles cost two clicks.
No matter if they are played during a click turn or played by another card.
Cost total for Consulting Visit+BOOM! 4 Clicks.

Which is it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Roman
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Short answer: you need 3 clicks.

Consulting Visit
Operation: Alliance - Double • Cost: 2 • Influence: 3
This card costs 0 influence if you have 6 or more non-alliance cards in your deck.
As an additional cost to play this operation, spend [click].
Search R&D for an operation and play it (paying all costs). Shuffle R&D.
Weyland Consortium • Marya Yartseva • The Liberated Mind 94

You must pay all costs for the operation you searched for and then want to play. The first click of BOOM! is part of the execution of Consulting Visit. But you have to pay the additional click for BOOM! because it's a double, so 3 clicks total.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kim Choy
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to restate that, the click used to play an Operation is not part of the cost of the card.

By that I mean when it is your turn and you are deciding what action to execute with your next click, choosing to play an Operation is one of the available actions. The click used to initiate that action is not part of the cost.

"Double" operations and events have "as an additional cost, pay one click". That additional cost IS part of the cost of the card, just as the credits used to pay for the card are part of the cost.

So in your scenario, three clicks are spent: One to initiate the action of playing Consulting Visit, one spent as part of the cost to play Consulting Visit, and one spent to pay the additional cost of Boom!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.