$5.00
$15.00
$30.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Shadowrift» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spell Stances, Skills, Attacks, Epics... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
When you use a Spell to gain [Magic], ignore everything else about the card - its text, its [Epic] symbol if any, everything.
Treat it as if all Spells can be temporarily turned into a Resource card called Magic that provides 1 Magic the way a Prowess provides 1 Prowess. They turn back into their own card type when discarded during Cleanup.
So when used this way, a Fireball does not count as playing a Spell OR as playing an Attack. And you may discard one Fireball to empower another without worrying about "playing" two [Epic] cards in the same round.
When used this way a Spell Stance does not remain in play when the round ends, and Holy Aura does not give you the option to pay 1 Prowess to keep it in play (or allow you to block an incoming Wound).

As stated in the rulebook, it may be worth tilting the card so the [Magic] symbol juts up, as a reminder that you've played it as a Resource.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanouil Karakostas
Greece
Thessaloniki
Thessaloniki
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So...

the way a Stance is used is:

1) Play the Stance from your hand
2) Apply its damage, take wounds, at that moment.
3) Leave it in Play forever without the need of an upkeep cost(do not remove it in Cleanup, if no triggering occured)
4) You are obliged to Trigger it when the Trigger effect happens
5) Send it to discards after Triggering

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
manolios wrote:
So...

the way a Stance is used is:

1) Play the Stance from your hand
2) Apply its damage, take wounds, at that moment.
3) Leave it in Play forever without the need of an upkeep cost(do not remove it in Cleanup, if no triggering occured)
4) You are obliged to Trigger it when the Trigger effect happens
5) Send it to discards after Triggering

Thanks in advance!


This is accurate.
The single additional piece worth mentioning is that if you play another Stance you discard the Stance you already have in play without dealing with its Trigger effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.