Thumb up
1 Posts

Shadowrift: Eve of the Sickle Moon» Forums » Rules

Subject: On using Spells for [Magic] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Anderson
United States
flag msg tools
When you use a Spell to gain [Magic], ignore everything else about the card - its text, its [Epic] symbol if any, everything.
Treat it as if all Spells can be temporarily turned into a Resource card called Magic that provides 1 Magic the way a Prowess provides 1 Prowess. They turn back into their own card type when discarded during Cleanup.
So when used this way, a Fireball does not count as playing a Spell OR as playing an Attack. And you may discard one Fireball to empower another without worrying about "playing" two [Epic] cards in the same round.
When used this way a Spell Stance does not remain in play when the round ends, and Holy Aura does not give you the option to pay 1 Prowess to keep it in play (or allow you to block an incoming Wound).

As stated in the rulebook, it may be worth tilting the card so the [Magic] symbol juts up, as a reminder that you've played it as a Resource.
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.