Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Betrayal at House on the Hill» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dealing Damage on Defense rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Skip Mathias
United States
Waukesha
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I'm sure that this is self-explanatory, but I need to know due to the debate had during our last playthrough:

The rules state for Making an Attack:

When you make an attack, roll a number of dice equal to your Might. Your opponent does the same. Whoever rolls a higher result inflicts physical damage to the other explorer or monster. That player defeats his or her opponent. The amount of damage equals the difference between the two rolls. (For example, if you roll a 6 and your opponent gets a 5, you would inflict 1 point of physical damage.) If there's a tie, no one gets hurt.

When you take physical damage, you lower your explorer's Might and/or Speed traits a total number of spaces equal to the amount of damage you took.



1) Does this mean that a traitor/monster can take damage if they attack you and you win the defense roll?

2) Does this mean that you can stun a monster if you win the defense roll?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Both of your questions are correct, you can deal damage and stun a monster when you are not initiating the attack.

Don't think of it as a defense roll. No one is defending. The current player initiates an attack, and then you attack each other, with the better roller coming out on top. There is technically no "defending" against an attack. You'll also notice the book doesn't mention a defender or defending.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Wagner Hansen
Denmark
Sorø
flag msg tools
designer
Any time, any place!
badge
Fingers off, that's my car!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As we have played:

The player initiating the attack is the attacker, and can use weapons that help attacking.

The other player is the defender and cannot use weapons that help attacking.

Whoever rolls the higher result is the Winner, the other is the looser.

The winner damages the looser, or stuns if the looser is a monster, or steals if damage is 2+.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
l-hansen wrote:
As we have played:

The player initiating the attack is the attacker, and can use weapons that help attacking.

The other player is the defender and cannot use weapons that help attacking.

Whoever rolls the higher result is the Winner, the other is the looser.

The winner damages the looser, or stuns if the looser is a monster, or steals if damage is 2+.


This is a good point, only the one making an attack can use a weapon.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris G
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
l-hansen wrote:
The other player is the defender and cannot use weapons that help attacking.
...
The winner damages the looser, or stuns if the looser is a monster, or steals if damage is 2+.


Also, I believe that only the attacker may steal (and of course only if they are also the winner by 2+ damage as you said).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.