Conan» Forums » Variants

Subject: New Scenario "The Lord of Dagon": Help me playtest! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Hamilton
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
https://www.dropbox.com/s/uri50svbrz3orjf/The%20Lord%20of%20...

This is my first attempt at a home-made scenario for Conan. I have not yet had time to playtest it. I'm posting it here for comments/analysis, with the full expectation that balance tweaks will be required.

I wanted to make a scenario centered around Khosatral Khel, borrowing heavily from Robert E Howard's story, "The Devil in Iron."

I also wanted to evoke an almost D&D-esque feeling of the heroes exploring the rooms in the ruins without knowing what they were going to find inside.

Notes:
-I want the OL to have the offensive at the beginning of the scenario, with pressure on the Heroes to "turn the corner" on the difficulty level by finding the Yuetshi Knife. However I don't want the Heroes to be easily murdered, hence I have limited the OL's starting gems. Balancing this will probably be the most difficult aspect of this scenario.
-Mobility is crucial for the Heroes, hence the only Blocker in the scenario is the Giant Snake guarding the Knife, and the OL does not have many minions for hindering the Heroes. This elevates Shevatas' value in this scenario, as he can open doors/chests the fastest and grab the Knife without getting bogged down by the Snake. I gave Hadrathus Teleport for much the same purpose.
-This scenario employs a couple of resources from the King Pledge (Valeria, Mitra's Staff, Mummies, Giant Spider), but it should be relatively simple to substitute base box figures in their place as needed, just use your best judgment. If Belit is used in place of Valeria, I suggest she start with at least 3 guards in her area and be equiped with the Ornamental Spear and Tribal Shield.

Please let me know what you think! I'm especially interested in reports from anyone willing to play though the scenario.