Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2nd edition page 5, example 4, star wars rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed Collins
United States
West Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't played yet, reading the rule book. I can't seem to figure out why example 4 seems to contradict the rule it referred to.

How is it "no effect" if the US player is ahead on the space race?

If USSR plays this card for ops points, doesn't the Us player get to do the event? If US ahead on space race, then US would search discard pile and play a card for its event right? Why does the example say the result is no effect so the card is returned to discard pile?

I just do t get it, can someone please help me to understand this?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TonyKR
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
There's a very good and simple reason why it doesn't make sense. It's an error.

My 2011 printing Deluxe Edition rules say "The USSR plays 'Star Wars' for Operations, which would normally trigger the event, but the US player is behind on the Space Race track. The result is no effect and the 'Star Wars' card is returned to the discard pile."

Maybe grab a PDF for one of the newer editions? The core rules should be the same, but cleaner.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Collins
United States
West Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!!! I'm not crazy after all. Ha ha!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.