$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to resolve "Situation Report" friendly higher hq event? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Squires
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
The situation IS getting gratch
badge
Hurdy gurdy gurdy, in the windae boxes...
mbmbmbmbmb
I just got this game last week, and I'm currently playing Mission 1 of the Normandy campaign.

The Friendly Higher HQ Event 'Situation Report' came up. It says:
Quote:
Must spend 3 commands to send report to Battalion*
...
*Earn an extra Experience Point for each of these events if completed that turn


Then in 3.1 it says:
Quote:
For some events you get experience only if you accomplish the event that turn, but doing so is optional. You may choose to forego the experience if you feel you have more pressing matters.


From 3.1 it seems like the event is optional and only useful for gaining experience, but then there is that pesky MUST throwing me...


Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juno
Spain
BCN
Catalonia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
In my opinion it's optional:

Quote:
*Earn an extra Experience Point for each of these events IF completed that turn


For reference see Ben Hull's answer here:
http://boardgamegeek.com/article/5505460#5505460
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio B-D
Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Luxembourg
flag msg tools
mb
Optional. Think on the situation. Higher echelon calls you for a sitrep but you are in the middle of a hot firefight, what would you do? Go and leave your men unattended or tell the Commander to @€&(@&€ and remain? Both happen in real life.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Squires
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
The situation IS getting gratch
badge
Hurdy gurdy gurdy, in the windae boxes...
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the help everyone.

Sorry I couldn't track down that link. My searching failed me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
DFW
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the wording probably could have been better but it is my understanding that ALL higher HQ requests (orders) like this are optional. I believe the wording really intends to say that if you want to complete this optional goal then you have to spend 3 command points.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.