Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Dominion (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Poacher & Harbinger execute order rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicholas K
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hi everyone,
I am not sure of the execute order for these two cards.
For example, the rules state that you have to execute everything on a card in order they are written. Poacher card states +1 card, +1 action, extra treasure for your buy phase, THEN "discard a card per empty pile". If you already made your buy phase, I assume discarding one card happens with your next 5 cards?
And the rules make it even more unclear by stating "you draw one card before discarding"! Which means we should discard before buy phase!

Or Harbinger gives you +1 card and +1 action, then asks you to look through discard pile and pick and put a card on top of your deck. The description also states that" take a card and +1 action". This means no matter what your second action is, you will never draw the card you are going to view and choose during you next and last step,as this should be your last action. However rules book also states something about playing two action cards which give you possibility to take the next card from your deck, which is the same card as you chose.

Anyone can explain the execution order of these two card?
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Confusing Manifestation
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quoting from the rulebook:

Quote:
In your Action phase, you can play one Action card from your hand. Those are cards that say "Action" on the bottom, and by default have a white banner (some are other colors due to additional types). Playing an Action card has three steps: announcing it; moving it to the "in play" area - the table space in front of you; and following the instructions on it, in order, top to bottom. If the card has a dividing line (e.g. Moat), you stop there; instructions below the line happen at some other time (indicated). If you cannot do everything a card tells you to do, you do as much as you can; you can still play a card even if you know you will not be able to do everything it tells you to.

Some cards give "+1 Action." This increases how many Action cards you can play in a turn. The increase happens right then, but you do not play the next Action card until completely finishing the first one. Some cards give "+2 Actions"; that means you can play two more Action cards that turn.


Similarly, +1 Coin and +1 Buy give you additional resources to use in your Buy phase, they don't immediately send you to your Buy Phase.

So you start your turn with a hand of cards, and three imaginary counters. You set your "Action" and "Buy" counters to 1, and your "Coin" counter to 0. When you play Poacher:

1. Subtract 1 from your "Action" counter (because you played an Action card).
2. Draw a card.
3. Add 1 to your "Action" counter.
4. Add 1 to your "Coin" counter.
5. Discard cards as necessary.

Then, since you presumably have a non-zero value on your "Action" counter, you can play another action card. Then, once you're done with your Action phase, proceed to your Buy phase. You can play any number of Treasures from your hand to add more numbers to your "Coin" counter, then you can buy cards as long as you have both the Coins and the Buys to do so.
6 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Patterson
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Harbinger and Poacher make a nice combo. You play the Harbinger, which lets you draw a card, gives you another action, and then put a card from your discard pile on top of your deck. If you use the next action to play a Poacher, you are guaranteed to get the card you placed there with the Harbinger. Sentry works well with these also.

We played a game recently using all the new cards in the upgrade kit, and the Poacher was one of the more popular ones, often leading to 3-4 of them played in a row. For obvious reasons, on one wanted to buy the last Poacher.

As to your question "If you already made your buy phase, I assume discarding one card happens with your next 5 cards?", I'm not sure where you're getting that from. You won't be playing a Poacher in your buy phase, only in your action phase. If there are any depleted piles when you play it, you have to discard a card, but that happens after you draw a card, so your hand size stays the same if there's only 1 depleted pile. In other words, you discard one card for each depleted pile immediately. There are other cards that cause you to discard something before cleanup phase, so there's nothing unusual here. Nothing about the Poacher affects the hand you draw for your next turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Mayer
United States
Arcadia
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And to belabor the above points made, here's how you'd play the Harbinger:

1. Play it to the table as your one action this turn.
2. Draw a card and put in your hand.
3. Note to yourself that you get +1 Action. You don't use this action right away. You just 'bank' it for now, and when you're completely done with this Harbinger card you can use that +1 action afterward to play another action card if you want.
4. Now you look through your discard and put a card on your deck.
5. You are done with the Harbinger. And so you realize you have one action left, the one you banked earlier, so you may go ahead and play another card now.

So yes, you always do a card from top to bottom but things like +1 action and +1 money are banked for later. Those types of directions you find on the cards aren't telling you to do anything tangible right now, but to note that you have them to use when the appropriate time comes up. You'll use the +1 action after you're done dealing with the current card. You'll use the +1 money when the buy phase comes around, which happens after the action phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas K
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmb
Quote:
and three imaginary counters...


Yes, that counter idea made it clear in my head. Thank you. And thanks to others for your explanations. I know now how to play it right without hesitation :-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.