GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,275 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: How EXACTLY does Dunhere work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patryk Zukowski
Poland
flag msg tools
Can he:

1) Attack an engaged enemy, get refreshed with an ability or something and then attack again (guess this counts to all characters, but still a good question)?

2) Attack, get refreshed with ability and then use his ability?

3) The other way around (use ability, get refreshed, attack normally)?

4) Use his ability, get refreshed with ability and then use it again? And if yes can he use it again on the same target?

Guess that's all. Whew, one card, so much confusion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Not twice on the same enemy. Apart from his expanded targeting option, his attack is a "normal" one, ie subject to the "one attack declaration per enemy" the rules framework grants the player.

Apart from that, yes to all.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim . K
United Kingdom
Southend-on-Sea
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You get to CHOOSE how you wish to attack with him, either with an engaged enemy, or one that is on the horizon in the staging area.. All during the combat phase ordinarily.
Other cards interact with Dunhere JUST THE SAME as any character.

So you can stick Unexpected Courage on him to refresh him and use him a second time, (again, you get to choose how to use him).
Or, as a different sort of example.. you can play Quick Strike on him and use him outside of the combat phase, and in Dunheres case, this entitles him to target the staging area. Handy if you want to eliminate an enemy in the staging area before quest resolution...but if you are using him more than once in a turn as has been mentioned, you cannot attack the same enemy twice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ernst Knauth
Germany
Erdmannhausen
BW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Which are the possibilities to refresh a character?

Is there a website where I can search for "refresh" on the cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim . K
United Kingdom
Southend-on-Sea
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Warbear wrote:
Which are the possibilities to refresh a character?


There are dozens of ways..! Some allies allow you to refresh characters, some events too, and some attachments give your character that ability .. Some hero's can self refresh.. Too many examples to mention off the top of my head, but if you have a core set there will be some options in amongst those cards.. Other expansions have built on this ability, so yes, there are lots of options to choose from..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kārlis Jēriņš
Latvia
Riga
flag msg tools
I'm a sheep.
badge
A lovely, fluffy sheep.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Warbear wrote:
Is there a website where I can search for "refresh" on the cards?


You could use Hall of Beorn (hallofbeorn.com) or any online deckbuilder (try ringsdb.com or cardgamedb.com). But note that the official term is "ready", not "refresh", so that's the word you'd have to search for.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim . K
United Kingdom
Southend-on-Sea
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
This link I believe, will give you the whole kit and caboodle ...

Enjoy!

http://hallofbeorn.com/LotR?DeckType=Player&Category=Readyin...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dale Stephenson
United States
Buford
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As a clarification, remember that the rule is that the same *player* cannot attack the same enemy twice, not that the same character cannot attack the same enemy twice. So consider this convoluted example:

Two-player game, tough enemy in staging. Dunhere has a number of attachments on him, including Unexpected Courage and Dunedain Cache (grants ranged). He is controlled by the first player. Second player has leadership. There are no engaged enemies.

In the combat phase, because no enemies are engaged there are no enemy attacks. In the first player's attack phase, Dunhere uses his ability to attack into staging (with +1 attack) and does some damage. He then uses Unexpected Courage to ready. In the second player's attack phase, he plays Sneak Attack to put a Son of Arnor into play, engaging the now-damaged enemy that was in staging. He declares an attack with Son of Arnor, and Dunhere (who is ranged because of Dunedain Cache) joins in the attack, finishing it off. Son of Arnor returns to the second player's hand at the end of the combat phase.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dalestephenson wrote:
As a clarification, remember that the rule is that the same *player* cannot attack the same enemy twice, not that the same character cannot attack the same enemy twice. So consider this convoluted example:


The same player can not *declare* an attack against the same enemy more than once per combat phase. Your ranged example follows from there.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patryk Zukowski
Poland
flag msg tools
Ok, thanks all for clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jensen
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ringsdb.com
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.