David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
P44 of combat example paragraph 5. McDougall has used a flanking attack card. ...."He then immediately performs an attack on the Rifleman. He uses his Ka-Bar knife. Normally,I would need to engage with a melee weapon but because of flanking attack I already have."
Where is this in the rules?
Are we saying that the cards spent on doing Flanking Attack allows me to place my HTH counter on an hostile?
If I had not noticed this in the example I would have carried on playing it as move and then normal attack.
It is as good as it sounds in the example on page 44.
Flanking Attack is a way to move and attack without spending any actions!
(it nay cost you cards to nmve though)
Normally to Move is 1 action, Normally to engage in hand to hand is 1 to 3 actions and then to attack is usually 1 action.
By Playing 1 card (and discarding 2) you get to move and attack without spending 2-5 actions!
See page 6 of the Rules:
Card Text and Decks
When the card text contradicts the
rulebook text, the card text takes
W-76 Flanking Attack - Action Card
You [any Soldier] may
perform a Move and then
you may immediately
perform an Attack without
Page 44 Example:
I then use my Action card Flanking Attack which has a Covert
discard of 2. This allows me to perform a Move and then
immediately perform an Attack without spending an Action.
McDougall moves into the Bunker Clearing Objective card
without having to Discard cards to move in because of his
Movement Value. He then immediately performs an Attack on
the Riflemen. He uses his Ka-Bar Knife. Normally, I would need
to Engage with a Melee Weapon but because of Flanking
Attack I already have. I place a Hand-to-Hand counter on the
Riflemen so I know the card I am Engaged in Hand-to-Hand
with. I am going to perform a Strong Attack which I need a 7
or higher on my Attack die and a 3 or higher to Defeat Cover.
However due to the Ka-Bar’s Stealth notation, I get an
automatic 6 on my Defeat Cover die roll for the first Ka-Bar
attack I do each Turn. I roll an 8 on my Attack die. I
successfully inflict one Kill on the Riflemen.