Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Innovation» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dogma need to be activated for automatic win conditions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryn Doe
United States
California
flag msg tools
Clarification on win conditions:

For cards like Empiricism, when does it take effect? For example on Empiricism, if it's part of your board and you don't have 20 lightbulbs immediately, but get 20 lightbulbs later, would you still need to activate the dogma as part of your turn before the win condition takes effect or would the win condition take effect as soon as you get 20 lightbulbs?

The rules say for automatic win condition cards the win happens "immediately", but does that mean immediately, or immediately after the dogma on the card is activated?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
W. Eric Martin
United States
Apex
North Carolina
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
Avatar
brynbryn wrote:
The rules say for automatic win condition cards the win happens "immediately", but does that mean immediately, or immediately after the dogma on the card is activated?

Immediately after the dogma on the card is activated. Note that when you activate the dogma, though, opponents have the first chance to satisfy the condition, so if someone else also has twenty lightbulbs, they'll win before you get the chance to.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that this card has two Dogma effects. The correct order of operations to Dogma that card is:

1: Opponents that share perform the first Dogma effect (name colours and possibly meld a card).
2: You perform the first Dogma effect.
3: Opponents that share perform the second Dogma effect (win if you have 20 bulbs).
4: You perform the second Dogma effect.
5: If one or more opponents shared, perform a free Draw action.

Both steps 3&4 where you are activating the second Dogma effect use the icons that are the at the start of steps 3&4 respectively. Thus, steps 1&2 might change the number and turn a non-winning condition into a winning one or vice versa.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Z
Australia
Rockhampton
QLD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The condition doesn't happen until you activate the dogma.

It is part of the dogma.

That is why it written next to a little dogma icon.

You only check these win conditions when the dogma is active, for who it is active for (depending on what the dogma refers to).

If the dogma is activated and the win condition is met, the game ends immediately.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.