Mirko Cano
France
Nice
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello all,

We came across this case last time I played with my friends. When there was only one day to reach the final day of the game (turquoise dent of the wheel), one of the players who just took the first player token wanted to advance two days so he could reach a particular action before finishing the game. Of course we would still feed our workers and everything but the wheel would have turned more than a full round...
Would this be possible or we just stop in the last dent advancing one day only?

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Totally legal. You can advance it beyond the last turquoise spot.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathaniel Chambers
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Scoring happens at the end of a turn. So the way I take it, you can't skip scoring, which is to also say you can't skip the turn in which scoring takes place.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
donald fast
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I disagree that one can't skip the scoring space.

Following that logic, one could not then advance past the temple scoring / resource gathering spaces either. This is explicitly covered in the rule book. Something to the tune of "if you advance past the resource/feed space, these actions take place anyways"
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel L
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bubblepipemedia wrote:
Scoring happens at the end of a turn. So the way I take it, you can't skip scoring, which is to also say you can't skip the turn in which scoring takes place.

You can skip the turn but the scoring happens anyway. don_f (above) is correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And for reference, on p10 of the rulebook, it says this:

It is not possible to use this privilege to avoid Food
Days. If the next day on the Tzolk'in gear is a Food Day,
you may still advance 2 days, but the new round will be
the Food Day that was skipped over.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathaniel Chambers
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
runtsta wrote:
And for reference, on p10 of the rulebook, it says this:

It is not possible to use this privilege to avoid Food
Days. If the next day on the Tzolk'in gear is a Food Day,
you may still advance 2 days, but the new round will be
the Food Day that was skipped over.


Notice how it doesn't just day the food day happens immediately, but that the next round will be the food day. That what leads me to believe you always get an actual round.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bubblepipemedia wrote:
runtsta wrote:
And for reference, on p10 of the rulebook, it says this:

It is not possible to use this privilege to avoid Food
Days. If the next day on the Tzolk'in gear is a Food Day,
you may still advance 2 days, but the new round will be
the Food Day that was skipped over.


Notice how it doesn't just day the food day happens immediately, but that the next round will be the food day. That what leads me to believe you always get an actual round.

That's true, the gear is just rotated once past the normal 'feeding day' cog. You still play out the full final turn, your workers are just one extra space further along.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.