Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Pax Pamir» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tableau Size check during other player's cleanup rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luigi C.
United States
Sedro Woolley
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tableau size is checked during the cleanup phase. Does that mean every cleanup phase, including the ones during another player's turn? In other words, if the player before you assassinates one of your political cards and shrinks your tableau size, will you have to discard down to the new size at the end of that player's turn (during "his" cleanup phase) and before your turn?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you only check your tableau size at the end of your turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Martin is backed up by the example in the rules:

"During the round, Jim’s rank three political card was Assassinated. Jim’s max Tableau Size has now been lowered by three. During the Cleanup phase on Jim’s turn, he will need to discard any cards on his Tableau in excess of his Tableau size."

Notice that Jim need discard only during his own turn, even if the Assassination was earlier in the round (during someone else's turn).

(Interestingly, this example seems to include the only use of the word "round" in the rules.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luigi C.
United States
Sedro Woolley
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. That clarifies it. I would suggest that the next version of the Living Rules replace "cleanup phase" with something like "the affected player's cleanup phase."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.