Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Directly Discard a Card from Hand? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kelly N.
United States
Richmond
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Talking triggered abilities here, which obviously included the ">>" ability...

Knife, for example, says >> Discard Knife: Fight. You get +2 (combat) for this attack. This attack deals +1 damage.

On page 3 of the Rules Reference it says, "Triggered abilities on a card a players controls are optionally triggered (or not) by that player at the appropriate timing moment, as indicated by the ability."

Can I discard the Knife card from my hand, since it is under "my control", to gain the fight bonus mentioned above?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve McCormick
England
Carlisle
Cumbria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jensen
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That trigger action is only available from cards in play. Your hand is not in play.

I agree it is under your control but considered out of play and therefore the trigger action is not available to you.

Action Rules Specific to your question:
A card in play and under his or her control. This includes his or her investigator card.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Marino
United States
Windsor
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Great Googly Moogly!
badge
That's the sealiest thing I've ever heard!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, I'm sure there are a couple of reasons for this, one of them being that it is an asset, but to me: Since it has the action arrow on it, you need to be able to trigger that as part of the action, and you can't unless it is in play, and it is not in play in your hand.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phoenix Bird
Antarctica
msg tools
mbmbmb
">>"

Activate Action

An investigator is permitted to activate abilities from the following sources:

• A card in play and under his or her control.


In Play and Out of Play

The cards that a player controls in his or her play area are considered in play.

Out of play refers to the cards in a player's hand...



No you can’t use the activate action from a card in your hand, it has to be in play.

Phoenix
7 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lee miller
msg tools
mb
I agree, it has to be in play. And now we need a new card

Ninja Throwing Stars
Discard from your hand to gain +2 Fight.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
spectrehorseman wrote:
I agree, it has to be in play. And now we need a new card

Ninja Throwing Stars
Discard from your hand to gain +2 Fight.


That's mechanically the same as Overpower (but slightly worse).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.