Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Star Wars: Destiny» Forums » Rules

Subject: Datapad and Resolution of Special Abilities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Frikium
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Datapad's special ability reads:
"Turn one of your dice to a side not showing damage"

Can this special be resolved to turn another die to a special symbol to be resolved in that same action?

I'm inclined to believe that you can. The rules state "Just like other symbols, a player can use multiple special abilities during the same action, and chooses the order that they are resolved in."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marc gauthier
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Only 1 action per turn, so no...you can change the dice but not resolve it on the same turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
I've seen such plays occur with:

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BdRLtzwk_s

look at 1:50...

is this wrong?

EDIT: nvm I think I am wrong. lol
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wassabi wrote:
Datapad's special ability reads:
"Turn one of your dice to a side not showing damage"

Can this special be resolved to turn another die to a special symbol to be resolved in that same action?

I'm inclined to believe that you can. The rules state "Just like other symbols, a player can use multiple special abilities during the same action, and chooses the order that they are resolved in."


https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/e3/76...

You sure can. Check it out on page 14 of the rules reference guide.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Merkle
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's check the rules reference.

Rules Reference wrote:

A player can resolve any dice with the same symbol, even
if those dice were not showing that symbol when the player started resolving dice.


So yes you can! I used this trick to turn a Lightsaber to its special side and kill a character with unblockable damage through 3 shields in one action.

Edit: ninja'd!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Marcuspolus01 wrote:
Only 1 action per turn, so no...you can change the dice but not resolve it on the same turn.


You can as RESOLVING is the action still in progress.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
does this also mean that BB8 could be used over and over in the same action assuming he keeps rolling his special? Or this is different?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Merkle
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike1977 wrote:
does this also mean that BB8 could be used over and over in the same action assuming he keeps rolling his special? Or this is different?


Also answered in the RRG.

"A special ability that rerolls its die cannot be resolved a second time during the same action."

So no BB-8 cannot loop. Neither can Black One nor Kylo Ren's Lightsaber.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marc gauthier
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yes your all right...Need to read full text before...sorry about that
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike1977 wrote:
does this also mean that BB8 could be used over and over in the same action assuming he keeps rolling his special? Or this is different?



Technically, I think his restriction is you can't resolve the same die twice in one action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.