17 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Variants

Subject: Expanded Diplomacy? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Krasny
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I will admit that I am very new to this game, 4 games total (Shadow of the Void expansions) and I love it. However I feel, for a 4X game, the diplomacy game is pretty minimal.

I wonder if anyone has messed around with opening up some options for player cooperation. Here are some things that seem obvious to me, and easy enough to accomplish in the game.

- Trading resources with another player
This is pretty self-explanatory, but if another player is willing to trade with you they should be able to. Players could negotiate value on their own, 1 for 1, 2 for 1, 3 for 2 whatever. Taking a page out of the civilization book, maybe a player could even agree to pay an X-money-per-turn agreement in order to capitulate to a more powerful rival instead of being squashed out? I was thinking initiating such an agreement would involve the active player to take the influence action.

- Trading/selling ship upgrades
Trading research doesn't seem possible given the current game mechanics, however trading upgrades does. The active player would choose the upgrade action, but instead of upgrading their own ship, they can send 1 upgrade into the blueprint of an allied ship. Resource payment can be negotiated and delivered.

- Open boarders
I know this is possible in an alliance, but why not just a 1-time open borders agreement?

Of course I realize freedom like this would greatly strengthen being peaceful and turtling. But I think it might make the game feel more alive. As if you are a real leader dealing with negotiations with other races rather then just the hands of politics that currently exists.

Would any of these break the game in your opinion?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Starkiller
United States
Wasilla
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb