Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Pandemic: The Cure – Experimental Meds» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing of events rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Can events normally be used after the dice are drawn but before they are rolled?

e.g. Can I see which dice were drawn, then use an event to move the quaratine specialist before rolling them?

A related question, for the event "skip the next infection phase", can I use this after I have drawn the dice but before I have rolled them? Or is the infection phase already committed to happening by that point?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Roy
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Baldrekr wrote:
Can events normally be used after the dice are drawn but before they are rolled?

e.g. Can I see which dice were drawn, then use an event to move the quaratine specialist before rolling them?

A related question, for the event "skip the next infection phase", can I use this after I have drawn the dice but before I have rolled them? Or is the infection phase already committed to happening by that point?


I'm pretty sure you can't split up an action, and "drawing and rolling the dice" is one action.

Though if there are any exceptions for new Experimental Meds dice/rules, I could be mistaken.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
aahs jpw
msg tools
mb
The base game rules p.7 mentions events being playable at any time except between rolling, placing, and outbreaking infection dice. Those sequential steps are the only uninterruptable ones.

Between drawing infection dice and rolling infection dice is explicitly permitted, evidenced by "Event: Rumors - return one die to the infection bag instead of rolling it...". I would assume that since you can play Rumors after drawing infection dice, you could choose to play Airlift at that time also.

If you draw the infection dice for the infect regions step, I think that puts you past the point of "skipping" the infect regions step, and the step happens. I vote no to using "One Quiet Night" after drawing infection dice.

Just my two cents.

aahsjpw
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you've drawn the dice for the Infection Phase, then you've started Infection Phase and you can't skip it.

In general, I play as though any game effect or event were atomic and therefore only interruptible by other effects that specifically allow an interruption (such as the event that allows you to put an infection die back in the bag). Any other approach feels like "gaming the system" to me.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Jonas

Oakdale
Minnesota
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state
"Events can be used by any player at any time, except in between rolling Infection dice, placing them, and then checking for any
outbreaks."

Therefore I would say it is fine after drawing. For a couple of the new characters that is when you do their ability, before you roll the die.

I can also see how some people would say you don't interrupt a sequence. However, there are many events and player's abilities that can happen during sequence, like to select the side of the die you want. I would just ask the players if they find it acceptable or not when the situation occurs.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geppo Muzzak
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not all the drawing and throwing the infection dice is a one-action. Forecast allows you to draw, configure 2 results and then infect so you're drawing, configuring 2 and then rolling 1 (in case of 3 total infection dice).
Rumors allows you to draw, then put back 1 in the bag.

It has to be noted, that the dice must be drawn from the bag and rolled. You can't take any action in between. You can't for example look at the dice and then reroll the rate effect hot zone. The ability of the quarantine specialist maybe is the one you are talking about, Kevin... you can move immediately before infecting... but that still doesn't change the fact once you draw, you're infecting... and therefore you must roll and place the dice immediately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
GShock112 wrote:
It has to be noted, that the dice must be drawn from the bag and rolled. You can't take any action in between.

Incorrect. The time you normally can't play Events is in between rolling and placing dice (not between drawing and rolling dice). Some effects impose other limits. For example, you can't skip the Infection step after starting to do it or, as you correctly point out:

Quote:
You can't for example [draw, roll, and] look at the [infection] dice and then [spend a "+" die to] reroll the rate effect hot zone [as you're no longer in the action step of your turn].
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geppo Muzzak
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:

Incorrect. The time you normally can't play Events is in between rolling and placing dice (not between drawing and rolling dice).


So am I correct if I say drawing and rolling infection dice are 2 parts of the infection phase and you can play event cards between drawing and rolling the infection dice?
(i.e. I play rumors and forecast before drawing then look at the dice then put one back in the bag. You're saying I can draw the dice, look at them and then decide to play rumors, correct?)

I have a question about the Hazardous samples, I'll post it in separate thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
GShock112 wrote:
So am I correct if I say drawing and rolling infection dice are 2 parts of the infection phase and you can play event cards between drawing and rolling the infection dice?

Normally, yes, unless the Event card itself says otherwise or has a different timing (i.e. you can't play an event to skip the infection phase after drawing infection dice as you're now in the middle of it).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.