Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

A Most Dangerous Time: Japan in Chaos, 1570-1584» Forums » Rules

Subject: Diplomacy Battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Franklin-Bihary
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My major question about the rules (which are horribly written, IMHO) is how does combat work during diplomacy? Does combat happen after ALL diplomacy is finished or after each individually?

Thanks folks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Twice
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
The rules are indeed horribly writen, which is a shame because the game is actually very simple.

Negotiation takes place early on the turn, before rolling for movement. Combat, of course, happens afterwards.

Betrayal in combat (as well as playing other cardS) takes place before you start rolling dice, right when the combat starts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cunningham
United States
Milford
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
General_Norris wrote:
Negotiation takes place early on the turn, before rolling for movement. Combat, of course, happens afterwards.

Betrayal in combat (as well as playing other cardS) takes place before you start rolling dice, right when the combat starts.


Are you sure about that?

In 8.4 it says that after a successful betrayal combat immediately ensues.

We always interpreted that to mean that the combat happens right after a successful negotiation in a space with more than one enemy unit. And that this combat happened before the next negotiation roll. We certainly weren't waiting until the combat phase.

But yes, the rules are poorly written, so another opinion is appreciated.

Dan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nanashi Santouhei
Japan
flag msg tools
The Combat should be taken place only after all negotiations for the area have been finished .
the designer said at
http://tss-website.sakura.ne.jp/tss/danwa/gj/nobunaga/local/...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.