Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Zombicide: Black Plague» Forums » Rules

Subject: A couple of basic questions (Vault, Orcish Crossbow, etc) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Exupery Ether
msg tools
mb
A few basic questions I guess I should call them

1. can zombies move to the Vault? can they follow the Survivor through the Vault?

2. how do you use the Orcish Crossbow? On its card it says:

dice: 2/2
to hit: 3+/3+
wound / damage: 2/2

I am confused.

3. can a Melee Survivor use Spells? For example the Inferno card. Can it be used by a Survivor who has a Greatsword as the base weapon?

Or are the Spell cards used only by Wizards and such?

Many thanks to all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Carter
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. yes zombies can move to the vault, but they don't have line of sight to it, so they will only move there if it is the shortest path to the most noise

2. Orcish Crossbow can be used as a melee or ranged weapon, which is why it has two sets of stats...one for melee (range 0) and one for ranged (range 1-2).

3. There is no such thing as a "melee survivor" or "wizard survivor." All survivors can use any weapon or spell...some just get benefits while using one or the other
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Exupery Ether
msg tools
mb
Jeff, you are a life saver! Thank You! blush

One more.

This rule always made me raise an eyebrow.

Let's say I fight a Fatty. I need a weapon of damage 2 to kill him.

My survivor attack the Fatty with a Greatsword (5 dice, wound on 5+, makes 1 damage).

So my survivor rolls 5 dice and he gets 4, 5, 5, 6, 6. So practically 4 wounds.

But still I cant kill the Fatty because he can be killed only with 2 Damage weapons.

Is that correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Orcs build their crossbows with blades for a reason!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Exupery wrote:
Jeff, you are a life saver! Thank You! blush

One more.

This rule always made me raise an eyebrow.

Let's say I fight a Fatty. I need a weapon of damage 2 to kill him.

My survivor attack the Fatty with a Greatsword (5 dice, wound on 5+, makes 1 damage).

So my survivor rolls 5 dice and he gets 4, 5, 5, 6, 6. So practically 4 wounds.

But still I cant kill the Fatty because he can be killed only with 2 Damage weapons.

Is that correct?


Correct. You did 4, 1-damage hits. No bueno.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Carter
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is correct. A 1 damage weapon can never kill a fatty (unless your survivor has something that increases the damage).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ghorron
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Exupery wrote:

So my survivor rolls 5 dice and he gets 4, 5, 5, 6, 6. So practically 4 wounds.

But still I cant kill the Fatty because he can be killed only with 2 Damage weapons.

Is that correct?


That is right, you need to inflict 2 damage with a single hit to kill a fatty, 3 to kill an abomination.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Baker
United Kingdom
Ferndown
Dorset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Think of it as trying to cut down a tree with a kitchen knife, some tools are just not cut out for the job. (I guess fatties just have very tough skin)

To continue the analogy; once you get your axe or chainsaw, you should be fine felling forests.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Flanagan
United States
Santa Cruz
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From Page 32/33 with regard to damage

• Walkers, Runners and Necromancers are killed with a 1
Damage hit (or more) .
• Fatties are killed with a 2 Damage hit (or more) . It does not
matter how many hits you obtain with a weapon that inflicts
1 Damage . A Fatty will absorb the hits without flinching .
• Abominations are killed with a 3 Damage hit (or more) . As
no weapon naturally has Damage 3 in Zombicide: Black Plague,
you have to destroy the monster with Dragon Fire (see page
35) or with Samson using a Damage 2 Melee weapon in conjunction with his +1 Damage: Melee Skill .

EXAMPLE: Silas unloads his two Repeating Crossbows on three
Walkers guarding a Fatty and scores five hits . The first three shots
easily blow away the Walkers . However, the Fatty takes the two
remaining hits with no consequences, as the Repeating Crossbow
inflicts only 1 Damage .
Ann arrives to finish the job with her Hammer . She only hits once,
but the Hammer inflicts 2 Damage, which is enough to crush that
Fatty down!
If there had been two Runners instead of a Fatty, a single hit with
the Hammer would not have eliminated the two Runners . Each
successful hit can only take out one target, and any remaining
Damage is overkill and wasted .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.