Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » Rules

Subject: A Quick Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adi Krupski
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
I got my game and played it but some questions came up:

1. It says in the rules that specilits act as colonists but also have unique abilities. Does this mean that a speciliast can go in the trade good box, or the capital building box.

2. Also if you have two colonists and a soldier in a region does that count as three colonists, and would allow you to take the trade good.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Fassio
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
1. It says in the rules that specilits act as colonists but also have unique abilities. Does this mean that a speciliast can go in the trade good box, or the capital building box.

Yes, all of your units from your supply must be used on your turn and if that means putting a missionary into the trade goods event box then so be it.

Quote:
2. Also if you have two colonists and a soldier in a region does that count as three colonists, and would allow you to take the trade good.

Yes, when 3 colonists or specialists occupy an uncontrolled region then you are in control of the region and are entitled to the trade good of that region.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wade Broadhead
United States
Pueblo
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question. We had the same pause. We played that it reads "colonists" in the boxes so you could not use a missionary in the trade good box, but it appears I was wrong.
So they "must" be used? You can't hold them for 2 turns?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Fassio
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only event box that allows you to carry over units is Discovery.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. You MUST place all units each turn. You may place specialists in boxes where they have no benefit.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Petersen
United States
St. Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Budley wrote:
Correct. You MUST place all units each turn. You may place specialists in boxes where they have no benefit.


Glenn, what do you mean by "benefit?" Does this mean that if I put a missionary in the trade good box, I cannot take the trade good? Or do you mean that the additional value of the missionary over a standard colonist is "wasted?"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The latter.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Szegedi
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glenn...

This may be an 'obvious question' but...

I understand the specialist has certain "special bonuses"

ie): The Captain specialist:

"The Captain counts as two (2) colonists in the Merchant
Shipping event box or the Discovery event box
."

Does that mean, if the Captain along with his discovery crew lands successfully, he goes into the region, correct? As he is in the region, he counts as (2) Colonists as far as determining bonuses/ VPts for region scoring, etc. Is that correct?

(and) down the road, should you need another Capatin, you can always just swap out a captain for (2) Colonists on the board at a regional area (Peru, New Granada, etc) Correct?

Just wanting to make sure!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NOT correct.

All members of a discovery expedition are eliminated regardless of the result. However, if the discovery is successful, one colonist belonging to the discovering player is placed in the region.

Otherwise, discovery is WAY too powerful as a means of colonization and this would significantly reduce the value of the colonist dock.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Paget
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
holywolfman wrote:
Glenn...

This may be an 'obvious question' but...

I understand the specialist has certain "special bonuses"

ie): The Captain specialist:

"The Captain counts as two (2) colonists in the Merchant
Shipping event box or the Discovery event box
."

Does that mean, if the Captain along with his discovery crew lands successfully, he goes into the region, correct? As he is in the region, he counts as (2) Colonists as far as determining bonuses/ VPts for region scoring, etc. Is that correct?

(and) down the road, should you need another Capatin, you can always just swap out a captain for (2) Colonists on the board at a regional area (Peru, New Granada, etc) Correct?

Just wanting to make sure!


The Captain has a value of two to determine if the natives are defeated when used in discovery , so a captain and two colonists would defeat a tile containing up to and including four natives.All pieces used on the voyage of discovery are discarded, successful or not. If you succeeded, you get one colonist in the region.

The only way to get a captain is via the specialist event box or certain capitol buildings.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sauberer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
holywolfman wrote:
Glenn...

This may be an 'obvious question' but...

I understand the specialist has certain "special bonuses"

ie): The Captain specialist:

"The Captain counts as two (2) colonists in the Merchant
Shipping event box or the Discovery event box
."

Does that mean, if the Captain along with his discovery crew lands successfully, he goes into the region, correct? As he is in the region, he counts as (2) Colonists as far as determining bonuses/ VPts for region scoring, etc. Is that correct?

(and) down the road, should you need another Capatin, you can always just swap out a captain for (2) Colonists on the board at a regional area (Peru, New Granada, etc) Correct?

Just wanting to make sure!


The elimination of units during discovery has been covered by others, so I won't bother with that any more, but just to clarify the other issue...

If you should happen to get a Captain in a colony (via the Dock, for example) he will only count as one colonist, not two.If you need the Captain later on, you would swap out a single colonist figure for him.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Szegedi
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alrighty-then... thanks for all the responses!!! We will do our first game tomorrow and wanted to make sure we have the rules down. (Should be fun!)

btw: Glenn, the bits look awesome!!! (but, I know you already know that!)-lol
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.