Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Warfighter: The WWII Tactical Combat Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Suppression Effects rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Davis
United States
Royal Oak
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
We played our first WW2 WF game tonight. A rather long mission all the way to the end of the world, or at least the board. We had a question regarding the impact of suppression on various Hostile card effects. We know that a suppressed Hostile card does not close, and that it can effect the Hostile's fire. What effect does Suppression have on other Hostile card effects. For example, the German Frontline Harassing Force has the following text, "1 Behind Rear-Most. Maintain 1. Advance the Timer counter by 1 at the end of each Soldier Turn." If this Hostile card is suppressed, do you still advance the Timer Counter by 1 at the end of each Soldier Turn?

Thanks

Bob
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules page 25:
--------------------------
HOSTILE PENALTIES
Some Hostile cards add to a Location’s Entrance discard
cost.

Example: The Marsh Location has an Entrance cost of 4.
There is a Sniper Team and a Machinegun Team in the
Location. The Sniper Team adds 2 to the Entrance cost and
the Machinegun Team adds 2 more. A Soldier must discard
8 cards to enter the Location.

As a Hostile card suffers Suppressions and Hits, its
Entrance penalty is reduced. The numbers separated by
slashes relate to the Hostile card’s Attack chart columns.

Example: When the Sniper
Team does not have any
Suppresses or EKIAs, it uses
the “2” column. It also adds
+2 to the Entrance cost.
When the Sniper Team
suffers 1 Suppression or
EKIA, it uses the “1” column.
It now adds +0 to the
Entrance cost.

This makes it vital
As a Hostile card suffers Suppressions and Hits, its
Entrance penalty is reduced.
----------------------------

Rules page 30:
------------
Some Hostile cards have an
effect, but no die roll or Attack
chart. This text is only active if
there is at least one Hostile that
is not Suppressed or Killed on
the card and the Hostile is
within the noted Range.

Example: If the Large Truck is
within Range 2 of its Targeted
Soldier, draw a Reinforcement card for the Large Truck during
the Reinforcement Draw step. If the card drawn has a value of
0, 1, 2, 3, or 4, place the Hostile in the Truck’s Location. If the
Hostile’s value is 5 or more, discard it.

Some Hostile cards have a
Reinforce effect in addition to
an Attack chart. This text is
always active if there is at least
one Hostile that is not
Suppressed or Killed on the
card.

Example: The Officer’s
Reinforce and Inspire is active
unless he is Suppressed. The
Screened by effect is always
active.
----------------------

Rules page 33:
HOSTILES CLOSE RANGE
If a Hostile card has 1 or more Suppress counters, it cannot
Move.
All Hostile cards that are out of Range move one Location
card closer to their targeted Soldier. If a Hostile card is in
Range of its target, the Hostile card does not move.

Example: The Flankers, who have a Range of 1, have
targeted Soldier #2 Allen, but Allen is at range 2 from the
Flankers. The Flankers have a Suppressed counter on their
card. The Flankers cannot attack because they are out of
range, and they cannot Move because they have a Suppress
counter.

Some Hostiles do not Attack
your Soldiers, but instead
apply a detrimental effect. If
the targeted Soldier is out of
the Hostile’s Range (and the
Hostile does not have a
Suppress), move the Hostile
one Location card closer to
its targeted Soldier.

Example: The Large Truck
draws a Reinforcement each
Turn, during the Draw
Reinforcements step . If it is
more than 2 Location cards
away from its targeted Soldier,
it does not Draw a Reinforcement card. Move the Large
Truck one location closer to its targeted Soldier during the
Close Range step.

------------------

In general:
1. If all recticles are EKIA/SUPP the hostile does nothing.
2. If at least 1 SUPP the Hostile does not Close Range.
3. If the Hostile has it's effect as part of it's range - the effect will only work if in range.
4. If the Hostile's effect is separate to it's Range (attack chart) it's effect always works (except see 1.)

Have fun!

-----------
ps

5-87 Ger Harassing Force 2F

2 1
Roll Roll Attack (Range 0‐1)
5‐ 8‐ Miss
6+ 9+ 1 Wound

1 Behind Rear‐most. Maintain 1.
Advance the Timer counter by 1
at the end of each Soldier Turn.

means when drawn:
Place 1 behind rear most soldier (ie closest to mission card)
Draw Hostiles targeting counter (ie which soldier the Harassing Force is harassing)
Maintain 1 means that the Harassing force will try to stay at range 1 from the targeted soldier.
Because the effects are not linked to the attack Range and Attack Chart (page 30 of the rules) then the following occurs if there is at least
one Hostile that is not Suppressed or Killed on the card. - Advance the Timer counter by 1 at the end of each Soldier Turn.

I strongly suggest that you Eliminate any Harassing Force as soon as possible!

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Davis
United States
Royal Oak
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you so very much, David.

Bob
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Miller
United States
Juneau
Alaska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules page 33:
HOSTILES CLOSE RANGE
If a Hostile card has 1 or more Suppress counters, it cannot
Move.

Doesn't it say on p.32 that an enemy card can only have one suppress? I would think it could be completely suppressed...what is correct??
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
morpheous wrote:
Rules page 33:
HOSTILES CLOSE RANGE
If a Hostile card has 1 or more Suppress counters, it cannot
Move.

Doesn't it say on p.32 that an enemy card can only have one suppress? I would think it could be completely suppressed...what is correct??


Is this the paragraph from page 32?
No more than one Suppress
counter can be placed on a
card for each Hostile. If all
Hostiles on the card already
have an EKIA or Suppress
counter, ignore any
additional Suppress results
inflicted on the Hostile card.

eg. The Flanker Card has 3 Hostiles/Recticles (the number in the cross hairs) (eg it "sort of" represents 3 men)

A hostile card cannot have more SUPP/EKIA counters on it than it has reticles. (If all of them are EKIA then the Hostile Card is destroyed)

The Flanker card could thus have no more than 3 EKIA and/or SUPP counters on it.

If even 1 of those EKIA/SUPP counters was SUPP then the Hostile Card could not close range (move) as you have pinned down one/some of them and they don't want to leave anyone behind.

But.. unless all are EKIA/SUPP those not EKIA/SUPP will attack their targeted soldier if in range (use the appropriate column in the attack chart).

additional -
An attack that isn't Spray or Explosive can inflict only 1 SUPP/EKIA even if you rolled well - eg a M3 SMG needing a 8 to hit and you attack in auto mode (rolling 3d10 getting 10, 8 & 2) and a d6 to DC of 6, the Flanker Card would only get 1 EKIA placed on it (Not 2 EKIA & 1 SUPP).
If it was a spray or explosive attack (eg M1918A2 MG) then each result would be applied.

Does that help?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.