Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Blood Bowl (2016 edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Catching a throw in rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Culp
United States
Carrollton
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When throwing in a ball, if the ball passes through a players space (but has not stopped yet)do they get the chance to catch it or is it similar to a kickoff or missed pass that only the person in the square in which the ball ends moving gets a chance to catch it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Severs
England
Birmingham
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only in the square
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty sure you do the throw-in, with no intercepting or catches, until you get to the target space. Someone there? They must catch. No one there, bounces one space. Catch if player there. If not, loose ball...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Becker
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a player is on the exact space where the ball is thrown a catch attempt can be made. If no player is on that square it will hit the ground and bounce in d8 direction.

A player under the path of the crowd thrown ball may not attempt to catch it.

Hope this helps.

Michael
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Price
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
It is pitch black.
badge
You are likely to be eaten by a grue.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also worth mentioning, as it is sort of related: scattering an inaccurate pass works the same way. You roll on the scatter template three times, but nobody can catch it until you roll the last one--scattering three times is just to make the scatter more random; it's not representing the path of the ball.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Munch
Denmark
Lystrup
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
...Except that the throw-in is just one scatter, and not three.

Michael Becker wrote:
If a player is on the exact space where the ball is thrown a catch attempt can be made. If no player is on that square it will hit the ground and bounce in d8 direction.

A player under the path of the crowd thrown ball may not attempt to catch it.

A minor detail, but a catch attempt must be made.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad P
msg tools
mbmbmb
Thain Esh Kelch wrote:
...Except that the throw-in is just one scatter, and not three.

Michael Becker wrote:
If a player is on the exact space where the ball is thrown a catch attempt can be made. If no player is on that square it will hit the ground and bounce in d8 direction.

A player under the path of the crowd thrown ball may not attempt to catch it.

A minor detail, but a catch attempt must be made.


This is incorrect. The throw in is considered an inaccurate pass at the square. It is essentially the same result you get after the three scatters from a normal inaccurate pass. Models in the square then must try to catch it (getting catch rerolls) or models in adjacent square with diving catch can try to catch it if no one is in the square. If no one is there to catch it or the catch is failed then it "bounces" as would an accurate or inaccurate pass that was not caught.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Munch
Denmark
Lystrup
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We may be talking past each other, but quoting LRB6, just to ensure we agree:
Quote:
Use the Throw-in template to work out where the ball goes, using the last square the ball crossed before going off as a starting point (see page 4 for how the Throw-in template is used to throw-in the ball 2d6 squares). If the ball is thrown into a square occupied by a standing player, that player must attempt to catch the ball as described earlier. If the ball lands in an empty square or a square occupied by a Prone or Stunned player, then it will bounce.

(Emphasis LRB6, not mine)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Culp
United States
Carrollton
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, this is the way we played it and the way I interpreted the rules:

A player may not attempt to catch the throw-in until its travel comes to an end. If the balls movement comes to an end in the same square as a player he MUST attempt to catch the ball. If no player is in that square the ball will bounce one more time.

We had a person telling us we were doing it wrong and that each player in which the ball passed through on the way to the target square had to attempt to catch the ball.

Glad we got it right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Becker
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thain Esh Kelch wrote:
...Except that the throw-in is just one scatter, and not three.

Michael Becker wrote:
If a player is on the exact space where the ball is thrown a catch attempt can be made. If no player is on that square it will hit the ground and bounce in d8 direction.

A player under the path of the crowd thrown ball may not attempt to catch it.

A minor detail, but a catch attempt must be made.


Thanks for correcting my oversite David. In a rush trying to help.. instead of triple checking the response. lol
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Kelly
United States
Richardson
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dwculp wrote:
Thanks, this is the way we played it and the way I interpreted the rules:

A player may not attempt to catch the throw-in until its travel comes to an end. If the balls movement comes to an end in the same square as a player he MUST attempt to catch the ball. If no player is in that square the ball will bounce one more time.

We had a person telling us we were doing it wrong and that each player in which the ball passed through on the way to the target square had to attempt to catch the ball.

Glad we got it right.

As usual: just listen to me, and things will turn out correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.