United States
Sherman Oaks
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Follow me for wargames!
mbmbmbmbmb
I am looking into possibly starting an afterschool gaming club at the school I work at. While I have been playing chess for over 30 years, and other boardgames for almost 25, and have a vast and valuable game collection, I am trying to find games that would be more suited for the students I would be leading.

This would be at a middle school in suburban Los Angeles. The students would range in age from 12-15. Many are minority students, with many from immigrant families. Several would be from low income homes, and would not easily be able to afford games like Power Grid, or even lower cost titles like Puerto Rico or Settlers of Catan.

While I certainly believe that the students would be able to grasp the concepts of the games I've listed above, I would also like to be able to introduce the students to games that would be more affordable to them and their families. Something other than CCG's, which are affordable on an individual pack basis, but expensive in a collector's sense.

I am already a Bunny Patrol member for Playroom Entertainment, so I'm familiar with their catalog, and will likely be using their titles as a launching point. But are there other games, or game companies, that can be recommended to me to share with my school's students?

My thanks to any and all who can help.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate Straight

Covington
Louisiana
msg tools
badge
mbmb
Gamewright has a ton of card games that come in a scaled-down "Wal-Mart" version (even the standard versions are relatively cheap, but these are like $4-5) and are usually available for sale at the same. There's Loot (which is a great game), as well as many many others.