Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

New Angeles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trading Investment Cards? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
What do you guys think, okay to include your facedown investment card in a deal/trade? I can't find clarification in the rules, anyone know if this is called out anywhere. The entry for trading in the reference says:

"65.1 A player can trade capital, assets, or both to another player
without receiving anything in return."

"65.5 Players cannot trade action cards, emergency action cards,
rival cards, or corp sheets."

Is this a case of "if it doesn't say you can, then you can't?" or a case of "if it doesn't say you can't, you can."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kwijiboe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Hey!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The first rule simply says you can trade those items for nothing in return.

It's not a matter of whether investment cards fit in either column.

However, I think the card is not a tradeable component. It's a "choice" you've made before the round starts. The card simply represents that choice and is therefore, not a tradable component.

The rules aren't probably as concrete as you'd like, but it does say that the player scores the card they chose. If I trade my chosen card to another player, isn't that still the card I chose?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The default for any board game is "if it doesn't say you can, then you can't".
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, the "cannot" list is unnecessary - worse than unnecessary, as it is not exhaustive.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.