Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Morocco» Forums » Rules

Subject: How does one get 3rd placement? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel C. Martinez
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

Played Morocco yestersay and we couldnt figure out how a stall woukd resolve with someone being placed third. Since there are no tie breakers, total presence count would have to be 3,2,1, which we couldn't figure out how to achieve.

Can anyone provide an example please?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Olver
United States
Phoenix
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When the bodyguards get involved.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dragos_br wrote:
Hello,

Played Morocco yestersay and we couldnt figure out how a stall woukd resolve with someone being placed third. Since there are no tie breakers, total presence count would have to be 3,2,1, which we couldn't figure out how to achieve.

Can anyone provide an example please?

Thanks.


In a given stall...

Player A = bodyguard
Player B = bodyguard
Player C = assistant

Players A and B tie for first, leaving Player C in third place.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel C. Martinez
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Dustin, sorry but I´m confused. This seems to contradict example J on page 6. I thought the worker count is the trigger to close the stall.

If it is, then 2 bodyguards will bring the total worker count to 4 and close the stall before player C has an opportunity to place anyone.

Still, let´s assume player B places an assistant and player C plays a Bodyguard. In that situation, won´t A and C tie for first and leave B in second?

Thanks.

FreedomGunfire wrote:
dragos_br wrote:
Hello,

Played Morocco yestersay and we couldnt figure out how a stall woukd resolve with someone being placed third. Since there are no tie breakers, total presence count would have to be 3,2,1, which we couldn't figure out how to achieve.

Can anyone provide an example please?

Thanks.


In a given stall...

Player A = bodyguard
Player B = bodyguard
Player C = assistant

Players A and B tie for first, leaving Player C in third place.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dragos_br wrote:
Hi Dustin, sorry but I´m confused. This seems to contradict example J on page 6. I thought the worker count is the trigger to close the stall.

If it is, then 2 bodyguards will bring the total worker count to 4 and close the stall before player C has an opportunity to place anyone.

Still, let´s assume player B places an assistant and player C plays a Bodyguard. In that situation, won´t A and C tie for first and leave B in second?


You are correct in that total worker count is the trigger to close the stall. The threshold for closing a stall is 4 worker count.

So if a stall has Player C's assistant and Player B's bodyguard, the total worker count is 3. Player A then drops in a bodyguard, bringing the total worker count to 5, and triggering the closing of the stall.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In answer to your other question: In some games, a tie for a given placement doesn't affect subsequent placements. In other games, a tie forces all subsequent finishers further down the leaderboard. This is one of the latter instances.

Morocco plays out like an Olympic event. In the Olympics, if two competitors tie and are both awarded the gold medal in an event, the next-best finisher is given the bronze, and no silver is awarded.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel C. Martinez
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Now I understand. Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Richter
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
FreedomGunfire wrote:
In answer to your other question: In some games, a tie for a given placement doesn't affect subsequent placements. In other games, a tie forces all subsequent finishers further down the leaderboard. This is one of the latter instances.

Morocco plays out like an Olympic event. In the Olympics, if two competitors tie and are both awarded the gold medal in an event, the next-best finisher is given the bronze, and no silver is awarded.


i thought so too but it doesn't state in the rulebook that if two people tie for first the third person gets third place, so we played it as they got second place
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chrissolo88 wrote:
FreedomGunfire wrote:
In answer to your other question: In some games, a tie for a given placement doesn't affect subsequent placements. In other games, a tie forces all subsequent finishers further down the leaderboard. This is one of the latter instances.

Morocco plays out like an Olympic event. In the Olympics, if two competitors tie and are both awarded the gold medal in an event, the next-best finisher is given the bronze, and no silver is awarded.


i thought so too but it doesn't state in the rulebook that if two people tie for first the third person gets third place, so we played it as they got second place


You're right -- it isn't explicit, merely implied (since that's the only possible way for a third place to occur).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.