Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Falling Sky: The Gallic Revolt Against Caesar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Counterattack/ambush rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
GeeKenny GeeKenny
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

1) Example Caesar, 4 legions and a fort get ambushed by 4 warbands.

If the Roman troops want to counterattack, how does this work? According to the fules you first have to throw a dice, is this only for Caesar or for all roman troops? And if the dice is succesfull the unit can attack?



Please clarify.

Thanks,
Kenny.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nes
Norway
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In every Ambush; legions, forts and citadels are removed without rolling(to absorb the loss), and the defender does NOT counterattack.

EXCEPT, if Caesar is present: The Romans then roll to see if they counterattack and if they may roll to absorb losses.
-If the Romans roll 4-6 they may do so.
-If battling the Belgic, the Romans need to roll 5-6 to do so.

The Battle Procedure player aid is a handy reminder for this.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
[This space intentionally left blank]
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
woxoya wrote:
In every Ambush; legions, forts and citadels are removed without rolling(to absorb the loss), and the defender does NOT counterattack.

EXCEPT, if Caesar is present: The Romans then roll to see if they counterattack and if they may roll to absorb losses.
-If the Romans roll 4-6 they may do so.
-If battling the Belgic, the Romans need to roll 5-6 to do so.

The Battle Procedure player aid is a handy reminder for this.
To expand on this a bit and answer the specific questions: It is one die roll for the region where Caesar is located. Not one roll per unit. That one die roll is used to negate all effects of the ambush in the region (die roll for losses, retreat/counterattack)

Basically, if the region with Caesar is selected for an ambush/battle the Roman player may roll a die and if it's within the ranges woxoya stated then that region is effectively only selected for battle without ambush.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.