Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
28 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » Rules

Subject: First Game Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig Artl
United States
New Berlin
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Age of Empires III hit the table for the first time last night in a wonderful 3 player game. It all went quite smoothly and we really didn't have any rules questions until the game was wrapping up at the end of turn 8.

The rules note that the game ends at the end of Turn 8. Since the turn sequence includes the Income and Capital Building Benefits phases, are you supposed to receive your income (for tie breaking purposes I suppose) and recurring building benefits prior to moving on to the victory points calculation (where you will receive victory points for your income level)? We didn't bother but I suppose it could come into play in a really close game.

Assuming that you are supposed to trigger your recurring building benefits one final time (which makes sense), is player order used to determine the sequence? We had a player with the Stable (able to move 1 soldier to an adjacent colony) and another with Migration (able to move 2 colonists from any region to any other region). For final scoring of the colonies, the order of these moves made a big difference.

Regarding the Rum Distillery (plus $3 for each Sugar trade good owned), it specifically states that this is earned during the Income phase. Does that mean that you WILL earn victory points for the Rum Distillery in final scoring (unlike other building income like the Trading Post, Taxation and Factory which I assume is earned in the Capital Building Benefits phase and therefore not eligible for victory point earnings)?

This is a really sweet game and I am looking forward to playing with more players (4 this weekend and 6 next week). Congratulations Glenn on another fine effort!

Craig
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Galactic Doug
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
I too played a couple games last night and found some of your questions to be mine as well until I saw some things.

The rules note that the game ends at the end of Turn 8. Since the turn sequence includes the Income and Capital Building Benefits phases, are you supposed to receive your income

There is a building(don't remember the name right now) that has you count your money in exchange for VP's so if you go through the process of getting all the money you can and you have picked that building during the last two turns, You'll get more VP's during the Finale'.

is player order used to determine the sequence?

If you complete "ALL" Resolutions of Event boxes as normal you'll get the most benefits you can, and the people who have colonists to move are no exception. ie. you still go by the order you have established during the last turn setup in the initiative box or if not used by anyone the normal placement of colonists in the "Turn Order Box"

Does that mean that you WILL earn victory points for the Rum Distillery in final scoring

All buildings that have a red colored VP on them are calculated during the final VP count AFTER turn 8 ends.


This is what I used last night with your questions being things we had seen also, and how we managed them. That being said if someone (Glen?) has a different take I would sure like to hear it so I know what I did incorrectly last night. (If anything).

GD
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Biker1999 wrote:
Age of Empires III hit the table for the first time last night in a wonderful 3 player game. It all went quite smoothly and we really didn't have any rules questions until the game was wrapping up at the end of turn 8.

The rules note that the game ends at the end of Turn 8. Since the turn sequence includes the Income and Capital Building Benefits phases, are you supposed to receive your income (for tie breaking purposes I suppose) and recurring building benefits prior to moving on to the victory points calculation (where you will receive victory points for your income level)? We didn't bother but I suppose it could come into play in a really close game.

Assuming that you are supposed to trigger your recurring building benefits one final time (which makes sense), is player order used to determine the sequence? We had a player with the Stable (able to move 1 soldier to an adjacent colony) and another with Migration (able to move 2 colonists from any region to any other region). For final scoring of the colonies, the order of these moves made a big difference.

Regarding the Rum Distillery (plus $3 for each Sugar trade good owned), it specifically states that this is earned during the Income phase. Does that mean that you WILL earn victory points for the Rum Distillery in final scoring (unlike other building income like the Trading Post, Taxation and Factory which I assume is earned in the Capital Building Benefits phase and therefore not eligible for victory point earnings)?

This is a really sweet game and I am looking forward to playing with more players (4 this weekend and 6 next week). Congratulations Glenn on another fine effort!

Craig


The Stable and Migration are executed in turn order.

The income on turn 8 matters only to the player with the "Wealth" Capital Building. We usually skip it for the other playyers.

The "Economy" VP's at the end of the game are VP's equal to the $'s that your trade goods and merchant ships earned on turn 8...no capital buildings count for this calculation.

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Artl
United States
New Berlin
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a ton for the quick response Glenn! Looks like we awarded victory points for the Rum Distillery in error. We were thrown for a loop because of the specific notation that the extra dollars were earned in the Income phase (not the Capital Building phase) and are directly related to the trade goods you own which is different than the other Capital Buildings. The final economy scoring rules state that you receive victory points equal to the amount of Spanish Dollars that their trade goods and merchant ships generated at the end of Turn 8 so we thought that this extra sugar trade good income counted for victory points. Regarding the final Income phase, while you are generally able to ignore it for most players, money IS the second tiebreaker so in that rare instance it will probably be best to just dole out the final income as usual just to be sure. Once again, super game and I look forward to many playings!

Craig
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I threw tie breakers in there just to be complete. In all the games I've played, we never once had a tie, much less a tie with the need for a second tie-breaker... but you never know...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Galactic Doug
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
Budley wrote:
I threw tie breakers in there just to be complete. In all the games I've played, we never once had a tie, much less a tie with the need for a second tie-breaker... but you never know...



Glenn;

I have a couple questions.

I just finished a game with 4 people, and had major amounts of difference in gameplay styles, but most got within 10 VP's of each other throughout the game(especially the final VP's). Does this seem normal to you playing with best knowledge possible after only 4 games total here?

All things being equal, I would think that using different styles of play would create vast differences in the scoring of VP's.


2nd, I can't seem to find anything in the manual about placing specialists in different sections like Colonist Dock(placing a soldier there for instance), or missionaries being placed in the discovery box when the Dock is full in order to get the bonus of extra colonists. I assume we cannot but there is no specific statement that I can find. (or I have just overlooked it)

Doug
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adi Krupski
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Does a merchant ship allow you to receive your rum distillation for it if you use it as a sugar?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugh G. Rection
United States
La Mesa
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Budley wrote:
I threw tie breakers in there just to be complete. In all the games I've played, we never once had a tie, much less a tie with the need for a second tie-breaker... but you never know...


That's funny, because my very first game ended in a tie at 99 points. laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Galactic Doug wrote:
Budley wrote:
I threw tie breakers in there just to be complete. In all the games I've played, we never once had a tie, much less a tie with the need for a second tie-breaker... but you never know...



Glenn;

I have a couple questions.

I just finished a game with 4 people, and had major amounts of difference in gameplay styles, but most got within 10 VP's of each other throughout the game(especially the final VP's). Does this seem normal to you playing with best knowledge possible after only 4 games total here?

All things being equal, I would think that using different styles of play would create vast differences in the scoring of VP's.


2nd, I can't seem to find anything in the manual about placing specialists in different sections like Colonist Dock(placing a soldier there for instance), or missionaries being placed in the discovery box when the Dock is full in order to get the bonus of extra colonists. I assume we cannot but there is no specific statement that I can find. (or I have just overlooked it)

Doug


Players may place specialists anywhere, however, if placed in an area where that specialist gets no bonus, then you have wasted the specialist.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
monkey8 wrote:
Does a merchant ship allow you to receive your rum distillation for it if you use it as a sugar?


Nope. The merchant ships may only be used for completing sets.

1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hugh_G_Rection wrote:
Budley wrote:
I threw tie breakers in there just to be complete. In all the games I've played, we never once had a tie, much less a tie with the need for a second tie-breaker... but you never know...


That's funny, because my very first game ended in a tie at 99 points. laugh


Wow! Was it a two player game?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Galactic Doug wrote:
Budley wrote:
I threw tie breakers in there just to be complete. In all the games I've played, we never once had a tie, much less a tie with the need for a second tie-breaker... but you never know...



Glenn;

I have a couple questions.

I just finished a game with 4 people, and had major amounts of difference in gameplay styles, but most got within 10 VP's of each other throughout the game(especially the final VP's). Does this seem normal to you playing with best knowledge possible after only 4 games total here?

All things being equal, I would think that using different styles of play would create vast differences in the scoring of VP's.


Doug


I guess we really did balance the game pretty well...

I've played in several games where the scores are spread widely. Every game of AoE plays out very differently.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugh G. Rection
United States
La Mesa
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Budley wrote:
Hugh_G_Rection wrote:
Budley wrote:
I threw tie breakers in there just to be complete. In all the games I've played, we never once had a tie, much less a tie with the need for a second tie-breaker... but you never know...


That's funny, because my very first game ended in a tie at 99 points. laugh


Wow! Was it a two player game?


Yeah, 2 players. I couldn't believe it ended in a tie because I had a LOT of trade good points on the last turn (over 30 points) and I population-bombed two colonies into my majority by sending two missionaries (+cathedral bonus) on the last turn. She had more discoveries and +VP AGE III buildings which caught her up to me. If it weren't for the final missionaries, I would have lost the tie-breaker.

I played a 3 player game last night that ended in massive bloodshed, but I'll write up a separate session report for that one. So far, this game is kicking much ass.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Collins
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you compete over the specialists? The rules seemed to indicate it was first come first served, but I wasn't sure and thought I'd ask here. It played great that way, my first game (4 player) ended in an 8 point victory over second, and the other two players were pretty far behind.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Budley wrote:
Galactic Doug wrote:
2nd, I can't seem to find anything in the manual about placing specialists in different sections like Colonist Dock(placing a soldier there for instance), or missionaries being placed in the discovery box when the Dock is full in order to get the bonus of extra colonists. I assume we cannot but there is no specific statement that I can find. (or I have just overlooked it)

Doug


Players may place specialists anywhere, however, if placed in an area where that specialist gets no bonus, then you have wasted the specialist.

Glenn, does this mean that the Specialist(s) (Missionary) counts for ZERO here, or simply that he counts as a Colonist (i.e. 1) in say the Discovery box and/or the Merchant Shipping box?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Counts as a colonist...what is wasted is his special ability. I hate using a specialist in an area where the bonus is wasted!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply Glenn, and for a great game!

After our first game this evening, I started re-reading the rules (3rd time), and just spotted the answer on page 2 under Specialists: (Doh!)

Quote:
Specialists can perform the same function as the basic colonists but also have unique extra abilities.
I concur that using a specialist in this way is a waste, but in our 5-player game we found that the Colonist Dock filled up fast, and we had to "recycle" some specialists who had literally missed the boat!

The Capital Buildings and the Discovery counters/card manifest on pages 10, 11 and 12 were a great help! Thanks for including these in the rulebook!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Baden
United States
Berkeley Lake
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Can the Age 3 buildings that give variable VPs be used on both the 7th and 8th turns or only at the end of the game?

Also, is New World Cartography (free discovery) one time only

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Galactic Doug
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
Dogbreath wrote:
Can the Age 3 buildings that give variable VPs be used on both the 7th and 8th turns or only at the end of the game?

Also, is New World Cartography (free discovery) one time only

Thanks!


1) The ones that give a varied amount of VP's based on say your gold amount or how many buildings you have etc. you can buy during the 7th turn and so you would only be able to use them on the 8th turn anyways.

2) Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Baden
United States
Berkeley Lake
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmb

Galactic Doug wrote:
Dogbreath wrote:
Can the Age 3 buildings that give variable VPs be used on both the 7th and 8th turns or only at the end of the game?

Also, is New World Cartography (free discovery) one time only

Thanks!


1) The ones that give a varied amount of VP's based on say your gold amount or how many buildings you have etc. you can buy during the 7th turn and so you would only be able to use them on the 8th turn anyways.

2) Yes.


Capital Building Benefits comes after Resoulution (which is when they would be bought), so buildings bought in the 7th turn could act during the Capital Building Benefits phase of 7th and 8th, rather than just in the 8th. This seems too powereful. For examply, I had Navy and 5 ships. I could possibly get 20 points on 7th and 8th turn. We chose to make the variable VP buildings only act during end-game scoring, but I'm not sure that this was the intent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael S
Taiwan
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Budley wrote:
I threw tie breakers in there just to be complete. In all the games I've played, we never once had a tie, much less a tie with the need for a second tie-breaker... but you never know...


Our first 3 player game ended with a tie at 75 that went to the second tie breaker The third player had 72.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Speare
United States
Bedford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
tee hee, that tickles!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dogbreath wrote:
For examply, I had Navy and 5 ships. I could possibly get 20 points on 7th and 8th turn. We chose to make the variable VP buildings only act during end-game scoring, but I'm not sure that this was the intent.


The rules for capital building VP scoring are under the "End-Game scoring" section (section VIII) of the rules, so I believe only getting VP for them once is the designer's intent. (That's how we have played.)

The rulebook is not perfectly clear, though.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Greisz
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hawk wrote:
The Capital Buildings and the Discovery counters/card manifest on pages 10, 11 and 12 were a great help! Thanks for including these in the rulebook!


Now if only someone with better graphic ability than I would take those 2 things, along with the turn/phase list and make a players aid. I'm playing for the first time this week end and want to make sure it goes smoothly. Hopefully UniversalHead will start playing and add it to the outstanding Headless Hollow FAQ page.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Speare
United States
Bedford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
tee hee, that tickles!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll be making a player aid as soon as I can...listing the capital buildings is #1, turn order #2, colony scoring rules #3 if they fit.

(Don't let me stop anyone else though, I'm happy to be beaten to the punch. )

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Budley wrote:
Biker1999 wrote:
Regarding the Rum Distillery (plus $3 for each Sugar trade good owned), it specifically states that this is earned during the Income phase. Does that mean that you WILL earn victory points for the Rum Distillery in final scoring (unlike other building income like the Trading Post, Taxation and Factory which I assume is earned in the Capital Building Benefits phase and therefore not eligible for victory point earnings)?

The "Economy" VP's at the end of the game are VP's equal to the $'s that your trade goods and merchant ships earned on turn 8...no capital buildings count for this calculation.


Glenn, was there any reason to state "earned during the Income Phase" for the Rum Distillery? I too thought that perhaps this meant that it counted for Income VPs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.