Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Snyder
United States
Elizabethtown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a long time miniature painter, but up until now I've only painted miniatures with plastic bases (Gamea Workshop games). To hold the miniature in place while I paint it, I stick it to a wad of silly putty that's then stuck to a paint jar.

But now I'm venturing into painting Man O War ships, but I'm not sure how to hold them while I paint them. I can't just stick in on the silly putty because the putty will ooze around the ship rather than hold it secure like with the plastic bases. Any ideas?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Nicholson
United Kingdom
Newcastle
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Ive allways used double sided tape onto a length of scrap wood, myself. I've also known people to drill a small (0.3mm diameter and about 3mm deep) and pin with a long piece of wire to a bottle cork or something similar.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J J
Australia
flag msg tools
snyderman wrote:
I'm a long time miniature painter, but up until now I've only painted miniatures with plastic bases (Gamea Workshop games). To hold the miniature in place while I paint it, I stick it to a wad of silly putty that's then stuck to a paint jar.

But now I'm venturing into painting Man O War ships, but I'm not sure how to hold them while I paint them. I can't just stick in on the silly putty because the putty will ooze around the ship rather than hold it secure like with the plastic bases. Any ideas?

If by silly putty you mean the stuff we call blu tack here, then yes, you can do that, and it works perfectly. Why do you think it will ooze around rather than holding securely?

Failing that, just paint them in halves, holding one end at a time and in stages.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Snyder
United States
Elizabethtown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb