Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Gato Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leaving the battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Reece
United States
Post Falls
ID
flag msg tools
I've played a couple of games and not quite comfortable with the rules yet. So, I'm in a battle, I've done some damage taking a couple of escorts and a handful of merchants. The remaining escorts have detected me, I deep dived, I am loaded with stress, and low on torps. I want to get out of dodge. Can I just slip away somehow or now that I am detected by escorts are they free to hound me? From the rules (unless I'm reading wrong which is very possible) it seems the only way to leave is if you get sunk or there are no more ships on the tactical display.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan
United States
flag msg tools
1 Player hardcore
badge
Lone Warrior
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tim, see page 16 under the Movement heading. The paragraph underneath the two submarine counter images reads:

A Submarine may exit the Tactical Display by moving off the display from any Long Range Area. A Submarine with a Stress Level that makes it Unfit must move to exit the Tactical Display as directly as possible.

If I'm detected but the escorts cannot hit me (for example if I'm submerged and they couldn't quite reach my zone), I'll surface on the next round and move two spaces which just might be enough to get off the board.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Reece
United States
Post Falls
ID
flag msg tools
That was how I read it. Unfortunately I was trapped. I had a pair of escorts sitting on top of my submerged sub. I crash dived and then tried to run silent but rolled lousy evade dice, so I was continually detected. They peppered me until I became unfit and then sunk.

I've done a couple med campaigns and both scored unfit. This is a challenging game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Beckler
United States
Unspecified
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Were there still merchants in play? If so, were you taking into account their movement, which would eventually move you off the board since you were speed 0 due to silent running? Or did they just hit you too fast and sink you too quickly?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bret Hekking
United States
Acton
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, sounds like your standard lot as a U-Boat commander. The "terminal loop o' depth charge doom" occurs in many of my sessions of The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43 as well. After all, it's what you signed up for
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.