Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Guards of Atlantis: Tabletop MOBA» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movements and "in a straight line" Clarification? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wachirawit Soontornworachan
Thailand
flag msg tools
Greeting! We have recently receive the game and had a few rounds finished. So far the game is great and well-balanced. But there's few details we would like some clarifications:

Movement
Action : Movement is indeed explained in rulebook, but which one is the correct way to move with this action:
-moving figure space-by-space and never into occupied/impassable spaces in any of these steps. (path-finding, this means that surrounded figure cannot move at all)
-simply lift the figure and place it on empty space elsewhere. (No pathing restriction)

Secondly, how do we resolve movements in other action types? Do we have to do exactly what the card text says or the movement stated above also applied, if not otherwise noted?
-for example, Miss Swift's Steam Jump and its upgrades. Does she have to move exactly 4 spaces with this skill action?

'In a straight line' valid spaces
We would like some clarifiaction or diagram on which space is consider to be in straight line.
-The one we understood is the following: spaces or figure that is positioned so that, by drawing line from center of each hex to another linking the figure and target space/figure, would not break into jagged line.

Regardless, we still able to enjoy the game despite the gap we came across. Thank you in advance.

PS: Sabina's saber is a bit too fragile and we have to be aware not to break it up moving her figure around. We often play a joke about it and be cautious about this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arty N.
Latvia
Riga
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
Pudassassin wrote:

A -moving figure space-by-space and never into occupied/impassable spaces in any of these steps.

b-simply lift the figure and place it on empty space elsewhere. (No pathing restriction)

The correct one is A.
However, some cards are exception to this, in which case they have "ignoring obstacles" in their card text. Such as Steam Jump for example.


Pudassassin wrote:

Secondly, how do we resolve movements in other action types? Do we have to do exactly what the card text says or the movement stated above also applied, if not otherwise noted?
This is mentioned in the rules.
Page 5 point 1 on the left:
Quote:
Some cards have mandatory movement as part of the card's text. This is not considered to be regular movement and you must move as far as the card dictates. You may not resolve an action, unless you can perform this mandatory movement.
When a card has an effect that moves other heroes, however, move the target as far as possible. If you can not complete this movement you can still resolve the action.
So yes, you have to move exactly 4 with a Steam Jump or Barbarian's charge.


Pudassassin wrote:

-The one we understood is the following: spaces or figure that is positioned so that, by drawing line from center of each hex to another linking the figure and target space/figure, would not break into jagged line.

The straight line here is in the context of hexes. In a straight line = sequence of hexes without changing direction. From any point on the board there are 6 possible "straight lines".


Pudassassin wrote:

PS: Sabina's saber is a bit too fragile and we have to be aware not to break it up moving her figure around. We often play a joke about it and be cautious about this.
Yes, that is the case, unfortunately. We should have made that sword thicker.


Enjoy the game and feel free to ask any questions! :)

Cheers,
Arty
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will N
msg tools
Questions regarding movement:

When Wuk (who I'm presuming is the gorilla, please correct me) moves an opponent with this throwing ability, does the target player have to be moved in a straight line? The text indicates 'x spaces in any direction' but we interpreted that to include non-straight directions (as long as they land within range).

Also when rampaging, can the characters in the way be knocked 'backwards'? (i.e. on the hex the gorilla came from). The card did indicate 'any direction' so we presumed that 'backwards' is a valid direction.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arty N.
Latvia
Riga
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
williepoo21 wrote:
Questions regarding movement:

When Wuk (who I'm presuming is the gorilla, please correct me) moves an opponent with this throwing ability, does the target player have to be moved in a straight line? The text indicates 'x spaces in any direction' but we interpreted that to include non-straight directions (as long as they land within range).


Direction may not change. So, effectively, it becomes a straight line, Barbarian's Furious Punch works the same way.

williepoo21 wrote:

Also when rampaging, can the characters in the way be knocked 'backwards'? (i.e. on the hex the gorilla came from). The card did indicate 'any direction' so we presumed that 'backwards' is a valid direction.

Correct!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.