GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,610 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Nerdy Inventions» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Nerdy Inventions: Straightforward yet complex, and quite fun! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
PK Levine
United States
Rossville
GA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played this game for the first time last night, and definitely enjoyed it. I'm not a professional reviewer, but I'll do my best to explain why.

1. The rules are straightforward

Every turn, you roll three dice, use your existing inventions to modify them (this is 90% of the game), and then "spend" those dice to acquire inventions from a row of six and/or recharge your used inventions.

For example, let's say you want an invention whose cost is "2, 3, 3" but you rolled a 2, 4, and 5. But you have the Binoculars (reduce any die by 2) and Clock (reroll any die) inventions. You might use the Clock to reroll the 4, getting a 3, and then use the Binoculars to drop the 5 down to a 3. Now you have a 2, 3, and 3, and can acquire that invention from the row.

Each invention has a victory point value; whoever ends up with the most victory points wins. Pretty simple.

2. The gameplay is complex

As should be obvious, the interaction of inventions allows for some impressively complex moves, all of which are derived from simple logic. Basically, you learn to pull off "combos" to acquire as many inventions as you can. Use a Balloon to split your dice, a Tool to inflate a die's value, a Camera to shuffle and redraw the invention row, and so on. It's entirely possible to acquire two inventions on a turn -- and theoretically possible to get three, though it'd take a lot of luck (and charged-up inventions).

If you enjoy using a series of "building blocks" to achieve a wide range of results, you'll like this game.

3. It's fun