Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

13 Days: The Cuban Missile Crisis» Forums » Rules

Subject: A question about defcon rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gonzalo Campos
Spain
Alcorcón
Madrid
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hi!
I have a problem with this...
You must move the defcon track ever you use one card for orders, or only if this card have the defcon symbol?
There are one case in the rulebook tutorial that make me doubt:
First round, third USA´s card,U-2 knocked down... He moves two cubes on the Atlantic box but... he doesn´t move the defcon track by one!!
Why? It´s a mistake?
Thanks from Spain!!

Gonzalo
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jamuki (Jueguetistorias)
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can play a card for either "command" (adding/removing cubes) or "events" (as per the text card). "Command" always affect defcon; "Event" only affect defcon if and only if there is a DEFCON icon in the card.

Hope it's clear!

It's a very good game. You have a very good online implementation (https://chantry-games.com/), if you ever want a game, just let me know
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Just to add, re your replay example, the US would have escalated its Military defcon track one step when commanding those two cubes to the Atlantic, correct. I think a couple times it wasn't mentioned.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gonzalo Campos
Spain
Alcorcón
Madrid
flag msg tools
mbmb
That's right!
Like I thought. In this example, the rulebook is wrongh.
Thanks all folks!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gonzalo Campos
Spain
Alcorcón
Madrid
flag msg tools
mbmb
This is the paragraph:

Page 12 of the rulebook...
Round 1.
"For his third card the US plays U-2 Downed. The Soviet uses
the event to place 2 more Influence in Turkey, hoping to block
Turkey if that’s the US Agenda for the round. The US has no
cubes in either Cuba battleground so the Soviet use of the event
is complete. The US commands two Influence in the Atlantic
(to his maximum of five), convinced this is the Soviet’s Agenda."

It´s a mistake that the US. gamer don´t move his miltary Defcon track by one. Isn´t it?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jamuki (Jueguetistorias)
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I can see, yes, it's an errata
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Bradshaw
England
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
conde duque wrote:
This is the paragraph:

Page 12 of the rulebook...
Round 1.
"For his third card the US plays U-2 Downed. The Soviet uses
the event to place 2 more Influence in Turkey, hoping to block
Turkey if that’s the US Agenda for the round. The US has no
cubes in either Cuba battleground so the Soviet use of the event
is complete. The US commands two Influence in the Atlantic
(to his maximum of five), convinced this is the Soviet’s Agenda."

It´s a mistake that the US. gamer don´t move his miltary Defcon track by one. Isn´t it?


Yes indeed!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.