GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,553 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: first strike? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
david wood
msg tools
mbmb
The romulans have first strike ability. If there fleet invades my planet (planetary invasion), I cannot roll any defense dice. Is that right? Example - I have 4 nodes total and they have 8 ships, they roll more hits than I have nodes, they automatically take over and put down a control node. Is that right? If not, please explain the correct procedure. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Weihrauch
Germany
Frankfurt
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The first strike from the starting advancement (Romulan Cloaking Device) only affects space battles.

The Klingons have "Planetary Bombardment", which gives them First Strike when invading a system.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin S.
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, First Strike doesn't remove your capability to fire back. After ships with First Strike fire, casualties are taken. Any surviving ships/nodes can fire back normally. Also keep in mind that First Strike only resolves in the first round of combat. Combat then proceeds normally until one side is destroyed or retreats.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dana R.
United States
Claremont
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Devotium Popcornicus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Romulan first strike only happens on their turn if they attacked first correct? If the Klingons attacked the Romulans the Romulans don't get first shot off in other words?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Slabcity wrote:
Romulan first strike only happens on their turn if they attacked first correct? If the Klingons attacked the Romulans the Romulans don't get first shot off in other words?


Right.
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Weihrauch
Germany
Frankfurt
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, this is correct
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.