Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you push through an impassable border? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I assume not, but feel like as relates to movement, range, and adjacency in this game I should never rely on my gut. All references from RR:

"Push Action
An investigator can perform the push action to push a monster or
another investigator. He does so by following these steps:
1. Choose Target & Destination: The active investigator chooses
an adjacent space and either a monster or another investigator
in his space.
5. Resolve Movement: The monster or chosen investigator moves
1 space toward the chosen space. Then the active investigator may
move 1 space toward the chosen space."

"Adjacent
^ Two spaces are adjacent if they share a border, a door, an
impassable border, or a wall."

"Impassable Border
Impassable borders are space edges represented by dashed white or
yellow lines. Each impassable border separates two or more spaces.
^ Investigators and monsters cannot move through impassable
borders unless an effect specifically allows it.
^ Two spaces that share an impassable border are adjacent"

So I suppose, like fire, even though the space past the Impassable Border is adjacent, you can't push someone through it, because this would constitute a "move"?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AstroLad wrote:

"Push Action
5. Resolve Movement: The monster or chosen investigator moves
1 space toward the chosen space. Then the active investigator may
move 1 space toward the chosen space."

"Impassable Border
Investigators and monsters cannot move through impassable
borders unless an effect specifically allows it."



1 - Movement resulting from a Push Action is clearly marked as "move".

2 - Impassible Border does not allow you to "move" through it unless an effect specifically allows it.

3 - Push Actions do not "specifically allow" movement through impassible borders.

4 - Therefore it is not allowed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On a different point, fire can spread through an impassible border. It just can't spread through walls.

Fire spreading is not a form of movement, which is why it is allowed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arinmir Belegar
Spain
flag msg tools
mb
Another related question:
* Can I push a Flying monster throught an impassable border (flying monsters can go throught an impassable border)
* Can I push a Ghost throught a wall?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zen
Japan
Kyoto
flag msg tools
youtube.com/neatozen
badge
follow me on twitter: @zenxacred
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eorahil wrote:
Another related question:
* Can I push a Flying monster throught an impassable border (flying monsters can go throught an impassable border)
* Can I push a Ghost throught a wall?


Yes since there is an effect that allows it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good questions.

So good in fact, that I realised we are slightly incorrect above. I'll give my reasoning first.

The first step of Push involves the following:
RRG - Push wrote:
The active investigator chooses an adjacent space...

Then, if successful, the Push action continues as:
RRG wrote:
The monster or chosen investigator moves 1 space toward the chosen space. Then the active investigator may move 1 space toward the chosen space.


Note that the rule isn't to move into the chosen space, but to move toward it. The chosen space just has to be adjacent. This means you can choose the space on the other side of an impassible border, but the pushed monster will move one space along the shortest path to that chosen space. You cannot choose a space through a wall still, as the Wall rules specify that only things that specifically mention choosing spaces through walls work, and this rule doesn't.

So, to sum up:
• Yes, you actually can choose a space on the other side of an impassible border. For most monsters, they will be pushed to the next space along the shortest path to the space on the other side of the impassible border.

• Thus, yes, you can push a Flying monster or a Ghost across an impassible border. The monster will move to the chosen space, as it can, but if you choose to move with it, you will move along the shortest path to the chosen space instead.

• No, you cannot push a Ghost through a wall. You cannot choose the space on the other side of the wall.

At least, that's how the rules end up. Perhaps that's not the intention, but it is exactly what the rules say.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rindfleisch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like we have a contender for new question to be clarified in the next official FAQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.