Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Jockey» Forums » Rules

Subject: Determining position in the race for second place rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lori
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know if there is an answer to this question, since the rules don't seem to address it, but if nothing else I'd be interested to know how others play. It's about the situation in the race once the first horse has crossed the finish line. Since some of the bets depend on which horse finishes second, obviously you will continue playing till a second horse comes in.

But are the three horses that are still running considered to be in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place, or are they considered to be in 2nd, 3rd, and 4th place? If you think of them as 1, 2, 3, then the card that moves the 4th-place horse forward 20 spaces is a problem; does it become a null card? But if you think of them as 2, 3, 4, then presumably the card where the first horse triples its lead over #2 becomes a null card. But how do you interpret the card where the third horse moves to one ahead of the first horse? Would you take that as an instant win for the third horse, or as a null card?

Thanks for any input on this!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alfred Das
Netherlands
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
In the Dutch/French rules it is explicitly stated that:

[nl] "Het winnende paard geldt, ook nadat het de finish gepasseerd is, als No 1."
[fr] "Le cheval qui, le premier, a passé la ligne d'arrivée reste, jusqu'à la fin de la course le No 1."

Translated: The winning horse counts, even after passing the finish-line, as the No 1 horse.
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Cox
United States
Clemson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
1024x768 works just fine - Don't Wide the Site!
badge
Missing old BGG
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Der Das wrote:
In the Dutch/French rules it is explicitly stated that:

[nl] "Het winnende paard geldt, ook nadat het de finish gepasseerd is, als No 1."
[fr] "Le cheval qui, le premier, a passé la ligne d'arrivée reste, jusqu'à la fin de la course le No 1."

Translated: The winning horse counts, even after passing the finish-line, as the No 1 horse.

The original rules, English section, says the same thing. The remaining horses are in 2nd, 3rd, and 4th (unless some of them are tied).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.