Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

A Feast for Odin» Forums » Rules

Subject: Snare card required to lay a snare? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Guy Heinz
United States
Kenockee
MI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rulebook it states that the symbols on the left of the hunting action spaces (and raiding and pillaging) serve two purposes: one to remind you which goods and weapons you can spend to increase (or decrease) your roll; and two to remind you of what the consolation items are for failing. In the appendix bottom right page 13 it says: snares are REQUIRED (emphasis mine) when laying a snare. I thought I could just use wood to decrease my roll if I was out of snare cards. Must I have a snare in hand to perform this action? Also then, must I have a bow and arrow card in hand to hunt?

Thanks,

Guy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
guyheinz wrote:
In the rulebook it states that the symbols on the left of the hunting action spaces (and raiding and pillaging) serve two purposes: one to remind you which goods and weapons you can spend to increase (or decrease) your roll; and two to remind you of what the consolation items are for failing. In the appendix bottom right page 13 it says: snares are REQUIRED (emphasis mine) when laying a snare. I thought I could just use wood to decrease my roll if I was out of snare cards. Must I have a snare in hand to perform this action? Also then, must I have a bow and arrow card in hand to hunt?

Thanks,

Guy

No, it's just telling you when you would need snares. Probably a poor choice of words.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guy Heinz
United States
Kenockee
MI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, that's what I figured. This game is quickly becoming my all time favorite.

Guy
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Reitberger
Germany
Nürnberg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't get out of snares because you get one back if you are successful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
1869 wrote:
You can't get out of snares because you get one back if you are successful.

You could have a card that lets you spend snares, I think.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Reitberger
Germany
Nürnberg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GAFBlizzard wrote:
1869 wrote:
You can't get out of snares because you get one back if you are successful.

You could have a card that lets you spend snares, I think.


Haven't seen one for snares yet, they exist for all other kind of weapons.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
1869 wrote:
GAFBlizzard wrote:
1869 wrote:
You can't get out of snares because you get one back if you are successful.

You could have a card that lets you spend snares, I think.


Haven't seen one for snares yet, they exist for all other kind of weapons.

There are only a couple. It is a niche thing.

Dragonslayer (65 A) lets you immediately exchange 2 snares and 2 spears for 1 treasure chest.

Snare Specialist (130 C) lets you discard 2 snares after succeeding, reducing your original snare count by 1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.