Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Deus Ex Machina» Forums » Rules

Subject: First (1st) player token / Mt. Olympus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christy Love
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
In a 2 player game, there is really no need to visit Mt. Olympus to obtain the first player token. If you are not currently the first player, you will automatically become first player at the end of the current round anyway.

Now, maybe the rules need to clarify that for a 2 player game. I can hear the argument that if you're already first player and you visit Mt. Olympus then you will not need to sacrifice the first player token at the end of the round. ?????

Of course, you still get the benefit of gaining another DI card regardless of the first player token decision.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harry Haralampidis
Greece
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
getchristylove wrote:
In a 2 player game, there is really no need to visit Mt. Olympus to obtain the first player token. If you are not currently the first player, you will automatically become first player at the end of the current round anyway.


In a 2 player game, there are 3 tokens each for a total of 6 and 8 slots available on the board. The players do not necessarily want to visit the Temple, so the token doesn't necessarily change hands.

Quote:
Now, maybe the rules need to clarify that for a 2 player game. I can hear the argument that if you're already first player and you visit Mt. Olympus then you will not need to sacrifice the first player token at the end of the round. ?????


If you are the 1st player and you always have 4 quests available at the beginning of each turn, how will you place your secret quest cards? As per the rulebook, "These cards may be placed on the Quest track at any point during that player's round, provided there is an empty Quest space.

That is, the 1st player token could be a trap.

Quote:
Of course, you still get the benefit of gaining another DI card regardless of the first player token decision.


You also "lock" the 1st player token for you next turn, if you so need a fresh 4 new cards, or that legendary one no one managed yet
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christy Love
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Thanks. So the first player information should be revised to something like:

'The first player token will be gained by the player who visits Mt. Olympus for the beginning of next round. If you already have the first player token, you will keep this at the beginning of the next round.'

Actually, this should be applicable for any number of players.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.