Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Axis Empires: Totaler Krieg!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on section 4.2.5.2 Retreat Restrictions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Bukata
United States
Amherst
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Pi-Shu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The example with the HQ unit states that it takes damage.

Am I missing something?

The HQ is in a hex different than the defending unit (presumably the German 8th army). It seems to me that the HQ is a supporting HQ in the hex next to the 8th army.

My question is why would the HQ have to satisfy a loss first from the Dr3 result based on the below description of Dr reults? The HQ is not in the defending hex as far as I can tell.

Shouldnt the 8th army satisfy the Dr3 loss first and if retreating into the HQ hex then the HQ could satisfy a result?





I ask because Dr3 result in the rule book states specifically the bold area:

Dr1, Dr2, Dr3 – Defender Retreat. All ground units in the defending
hex must Retreat the indicated number of hexes
. If Retreat is not (or is
no longer) possible, the remaining unsatisfied Retreat result is
converted into step losses on a one-for-one basis until either the full
Retreat result is satisfied or Retreat becomes possible again (4.2.5.3).

Thank you,
-Dave
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't retreat if you were supported by an HQ (4.2.5.2)
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Haggett
United States
Riverside
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
4.2.5.2, second paragraph. The key part relating to ranged support is in parens. Essentially, if an HQ provides Ranged Support, it causes defenders to stand in place taking losses until the HQ breaks down.

1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bukata
United States
Amherst
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Pi-Shu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
huh, jeez, shake just read that too (embarrassed).

Thanks much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arduinceo wrote:
huh, jeez, shake just read that too (embarrassed).

Thanks much!


I missed it the first few times I played too.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bukata
United States
Amherst
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Pi-Shu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course if I would have read just a little bit further I would have found this nugget!:

4.2.6 Attrition
A faction satisfies Attrition results by eliminating steps from any of its
ground units involved in that combat (including an HQ unit providing
Ranged Support).

thanks again!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Fridy
United States
Kent
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also if you want to visualize the reason for this, it's that if you are providing the HQ support, you are committing higher echelon assets (Artillery, Reservesm TAC air, etc.) to the battle. This gives you the shift for the HQ. But since you are committing to a major battle, you can't retreat, but the HQ can take the hits, representing the loss of the reserves they sent in.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tripp Ritter
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
boyinblue1 wrote:
Arduinceo wrote:
huh, jeez, :shake: just read that too (embarrassed).

Thanks much!


I missed it the first few times I played too.


Oh man, I really played Barbarossa incorrectly then. Makes the decision whether or not to commit the HQ more important then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.